Skip to main content

How to protect and promote its innovations?

The subject of protection and valorisation of creations is inherent to start-ups and innovative companies. Without industrial property, your innovations are not secure and are likely to be copied by your competitors. Geoffroy Cousin, President of Fidal Innovation and an industrial property attorney, answered our questions about protecting innovation.


The importance of industrial property for a start-up

Start-ups that undertake research and development projects are confronted with the problems of protecting their innovation and industrial property. The principle of industrial property is to grant property rights to one's creations and thus secure their exploitation. A certain number of steps are nevertheless necessary before your innovation is protected.

Protecting your innovations is important for large groups, but even more so for start-ups. The fact of having a monopoly and preventing copying allows you to deploy more freely and to accelerate your commercial development. Competition is pushed back and this attracts investors, whose entry of funds is secured by industrial property, explains Geoffroy Cousin.

 

The advantages of industrial property

  • having a monopoly
  • slow down or even prevent copying
  • accelerate the growth of the company
  • attract investors
  • attract customers
  • attract talent
  • convey an innovative image

 

Systems to protect an innovation

Secret

The easiest way to protect an innovative creation is to keep it secret. Secrecy simply means not publicly disseminating the knowledge developed or acquired. Secrecy can complement or extend a patented innovation. The protection is unlimited as long as the secret exists.

However, secrecy is not an exclusive right: for example, if your competitors analyze your product and reproduce it, you cannot prevent them from doing so. Moreover, secrecy requires a strong involvement of the whole company.

Patent

Patenting is a very good way to protect an innovation, but it requires a lot of administrative steps in addition to being long and expensive. To protect your creation by patent, you must file a patent application with the INPI (the national institute of industrial property). After examination, your creation benefits from an industrial protection of 20 years.

Copyrights

Copyrights protect original artistic works: literary, musical, plastic, graphic, fashion, software, etc. The author automatically holds rights in principle on his work as soon as it is created, without any formalities. Copyright allows you to authorize or prohibit the distribution of your work.

However, you must be able to prove that you created the work. To confirm the date of creation of your work, there are several solutions: the Soleau envelope, the deposit with a ministerial officer or the deposit with a society of authors.

Registration of a design or model

The design registration protects the appearance of your products: colors, shapes, textures, lines and contours. You are the only one who can use it for up to 25 years in France. You are entitled to sue infringers.

Trademark registration

The trademark registration allows you to protect the distinctive signs of your company, your products or your services from your competitors. In France, the term of use is 10 years.

To register your trademark, it must be available, i.e. it must not have already been registered by a competitor. The trademark registration is renewable in exchange for a fee.

 

Focus on patent registration

As an industrial property attorney, Geoffroy Cousin is an expert in patent registration. This is a topic on which he supports his clients within Fidal Innovation.

The patent is a system that requires administrative steps. It starts with the filing of a file, the patent application, with the INPI. It is necessary to explain the invention and to ask for its protection," explains Geoffroy Cousin. Then, an examination is carried out by the administration which checks the criteria of patentability. In short, the invention must be original to benefit from protection and described, i.e. it must be made available to the public through the publication of the patent application.

Getting a patent usually takes several years, and the steps must be taken country by country if you want to protect your innovation internationally. It's a long process, but then you get a monopoly granted for 20 years from the filing. After that, the patent falls into the public domain.

Once the patent is granted to the company, it has a monopoly to exploit its creation. It can easily prevent the competition from copying its product. Moreover, the simple application for a patent can be sufficient to keep competitors at bay," adds Geoffroy Cousin. Indeed, once the patent is granted, the competitor must stop copying. For a competitor who is aware that the start-up has filed a patent application, it is therefore better to avoid this industrial investment.

 

Fidal Innovation at the service of innovation protection

Geoffroy Cousin has been a patent attorney, a regulated legal profession, since 2002. After having practiced for more than 15 years with the Plasseraud firm, he joined the Fidal group, the leading French law firm, to found Fidal Innovation.

Fidal Innovation is an industrial property law firm. The objective was to create this consulting firm specialized in the protection of innovation to provide a complete legal service to Fidal's clients. The issue of patents was recurrent in their legal problems: integrating this competence to Fidal's field of intervention became essential.

The patent system can be complicated to understand and lasts up to 20 years, so it is important for companies to be accompanied by a firm like Fidal Innovation, at the heart of their R&D strategy. Geoffroy Cousin and his team work on all issues related to the protection of innovations: patent filing, patent taxation, relations with public research organizations, different protection systems, copies, exploitation and free competition, etc.

Take advantage of Fidal Innovation's support directly on the Saclay plateau: the firm is opening an office there at the end of August. The IP attorneys are thus in the immediate vicinity of the entrepreneurship and innovation center of the École Polytechnique and the companies in the sector.

Skip to main content

Comment protéger et valoriser ses innovations ?

Le sujet de la protection et de la valorisation des créations est inhérent aux start-up et entreprises innovantes. Sans propriété industrielle, vos innovations ne sont pas sécurisées et sont susceptibles d’être copiées par vos concurrents. Geoffroy Cousin, président de Fidal Innovation et conseil en propriété industrielle, a répondu à nos questions concernant la protection de l’innovation.


L’importance de la propriété industrielle pour une start-up

Les start-up qui engagent des projets de recherche & développement se confrontent aux problématiques de la protection de l’innovation et de la propriété industrielle. Le principe de la propriété industrielle est de s’octroyer des droits de propriété sur ses créations et ainsi d’en sécuriser l’exploitation. Un certain nombre de démarches sont néanmoins nécessaires avant que votre innovation ne soit protégée.

Protéger ses innovations est important pour les grands groupes mais encore plus pour les start-up. Le fait de disposer d’un monopole et d’empêcher la copie permet de se déployer de manière plus libre et d’accélérer son développement commercial. La concurrence est repoussée et cela attire les investisseurs, dont l’entrée de fonds est sécurisée par la propriété industrielle, explique Geoffroy Cousin.

Les avantages de la propriété industrielle

  • disposer du monopole
  • ralentir voire empêcher la copie
  • accélérer la croissance de l’entreprise
  • attirer des investisseurs
  • attirer des clients
  • attirer des talents
  • véhiculer une image innovante

 

Les systèmes pour protéger une innovation

Secret 

Le moyen le plus facile de protéger une création innovante est d’en garder le secret. Le secret consiste tout simplement à ne pas diffuser publiquement les connaissances élaborées ou acquises. Le secret peut compléter ou prolonger une innovation brevetée. La protection est sans limite tant que le secret existe.

Cependant, le secret n’est pas un droit exclusif : par exemple, si vos concurrents analysent votre produit et le reproduisent, vous ne pourrez pas les en empêcher. Par ailleurs, le secret demande une forte implication de toute l’entreprise.

Brevet

Le dépôt de brevet est un très bon moyen de protéger une innovation, mais cela requiert un grand nombre de démarches administratives en plus d’être long et coûteux. Pour protéger votre création par brevet, vous devez déposer une demande de brevet à l’INPI (l’institut national de la propriété industrielle). Après examen, votre création bénéficie d’une protection industrielle de 20 ans. 

Droits d’auteur

Les droits d’auteur protègent les œuvres artistiques originales : œuvre littéraire, musicale, plastique, graphique, de mode, logiciel, etc. L’auteur détient automatiquement des droits de principe sur son œuvre dès sa création, sans formalités nécessaires. Le droit d’auteur permet notamment d’autoriser ou d’interdire la diffusion de son œuvre.

Vous devez néanmoins être en mesure de prouver que vous avez créé l'œuvre. Pour confirmer la date de création de votre œuvre, il existe plusieurs solutions : l’enveloppe Soleau, le dépôt auprès d’un officier ministériel ou le dépôt auprès d’une société d’auteurs.

Dépôt de dessin et modèle 

Le dépôt de dessin ou modèle protège l’apparence de vos produits : couleurs, formes, textures, lignes et contours. Vous êtes le seul à pouvoir l’exploiter jusqu’à 25 ans en France. Vous êtes en droit de poursuivre les contrefacteurs.

Dépôt de marque

Le dépôt de marque permet de protéger les signes distinctifs de votre entreprise, de vos produits ou de vos services par rapport à vos concurrents. La durée d’exploitation est de 10 ans en France.

Pour déposer votre marque, elle doit être disponible, c’est-à-dire ne pas avoir déjà été déposée par un concurrent. Le dépôt de marque est renouvelable en contrepartie d’une redevance.

 

Focus sur le dépôt de brevet

En tant que conseil en propriété industrielle, Geoffroy Cousin est un expert du dépôt de brevet. C’est une thématique sur laquelle il accompagne ses clients au sein de Fidal Innovation.

Le brevet est un système qui demande des démarches administratives. Cela débute par le dépôt d’un dossier, la demande de brevet, auprès de l’INPI. Il est nécessaire d’expliquer son invention et de solliciter une protection de celle-ci, expose Geoffroy Cousin. Ensuite, un examen est réalisé par l’administration qui vérifie les critères de brevetabilité. En résumé, l’invention doit être originale pour bénéficier d’une protection et décrite, c’est-à-dire qu’elle doit être rendue accessible au public par la publication de la demande de brevet.

Obtenir un brevet dure en général plusieurs années, et les démarches doivent être effectuées pays par pays si vous désirez protéger votre innovation à l’international. C’est un processus long, mais vous bénéficiez ensuite d’un monopole octroyé pour 20 ans à compter du dépôt. Ensuite, le brevet tombe dans le domaine public.

Une fois que le brevet est délivré à l’entreprise, elle possède un monopole d’exploitation de sa création. Elle peut facilement empêcher la concurrence de copier son produit. D’ailleurs, la simple demande de dépôt peut être suffisante pour tenir les concurrents à distance, ajoute Geoffroy Cousin. En effet, une fois le brevet octroyé, le concurrent devra arrêter sa copie. Pour un concurrent au courant du dépôt de demande de brevet par la start-up, il vaut donc mieux éviter cet investissement industriel.

 

Fidal Innovation au service de la protection des innovations

Geoffroy Cousin est conseil en propriété industrielle, une profession juridique réglementée, depuis 2002. Après avoir exercé pendant plus de 15 ans au sein du cabinet Plasseraud, il s’est associé au groupe Fidal, le premier cabinet juridique français, pour fonder Fidal Innovation.

Fidal Innovation est un cabinet de conseil en propriété industrielle. L’objectif était de créer ce cabinet de conseil spécialisé dans la protection de l’innovation pour fournir un service juridique complet aux clients de Fidal. La question des brevets était récurrente dans leurs problèmes juridiques : intégrer cette compétence au champ d’intervention de Fidal est devenu indispensable.

Le système des brevets peut être compliqué à appréhender et dure jusqu’à 20 ans, il est donc important pour les entreprises d’être accompagnées par un cabinet comme Fidal Innovation, au coeur de leur stratégie R&D. Geoffroy Cousin et son équipe interviennent sur l’ensemble des questions relatives à la protection des innovations : le dépôt de brevet, la fiscalité des brevets, les relations avec les organismes de recherche publique, les différents systèmes de protection, les copies, l’exploitation et la libre concurrence, etc.

Bénéficiez de l’accompagnement de Fidal Innovation directement sur le plateau de Saclay : le cabinet y ouvre un bureau fin août. Les conseils en propriété industrielle se trouvent ainsi à proximité immédiate du centre d’entrepreneuriat et d’innovation de l’École polytechnique et des entreprises du secteur.