Skip to main content

Gamma Pulse: decontaminating the air by cleaning suspended particles

The outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic revealed a real need: to be able to decontaminate the air quickly. Gamma Pulse, currently incubated at X-Tech, the incubator for advanced companies at the Ecole Polytechnique, has taken up this challenge.


A change of direction

Founded in 2014, Gamma Pulse first had an idea to apply plasma physics and pulsed power to detect hidden explosives and nuclear substances. By the time the project became really concrete, the Covid-19 pandemic hit France. From there, the founders realized that they had worked on a purification system in their past. They then decided to start working on it in March 2020. In July 2020, Gamma Pulse obtained funding from an industry to develop its first prototype and patent it.

After laboratory tests, the first prototype, intended for hospitals, was presented on the Institut Polytechnique de Paris booth at the Viva Technology trade show. The device purifies between 1 and 6 cubic meters per minute, or up to 360 cubic meters per hour.

 

1

 

Gamma Pulse in the future?

In the future, Gamma Pulse would like to maintain their production in France for restaurants and hospitals and license to major industries for other international applications.

They also want to return to their core project of detecting explosives and hidden nuclear substances with the funding raised by KillViD™, their purification system.

 

Any advice?

Entrepreneurship requires a lot of passion. The beginning is always hard, you have to be very invested.

According to Carmen Dumitrescu, the CEO of Gamma Pulse, you have to be stubborn : the hardest part is being your own boss.

Everything is possible, the impossible just takes a little longer.

Skip to main content

Gamma Pulse : décontaminer l’air par le nettoyage des particules en suspension

L’apparition de la pandémie de Covid-19 a révélé un vrai besoin : pouvoir décontaminer l’air rapidement. Gamma Pulse, actuellement incubée chez X-Tech, l’incubateur pour entreprise avancées de l’Ecole polytechnique, s’est lancée ce défi.


Un changement de cap

Fondée en 2014, Gamma Pulse a d’abord eu une idée d’application de la physique plasma et de la puissance pulsée afin de détecter des explosifs et des substances nucléaires dissimulées. Au moment où le projet est devenu réellement concret, la pandémie de Covid-19 a touché la France. A partir de là, les fondateurs ont réalisé qu’ils avaient travaillé sur un système de purification dans leur passé. Ils ont alors décidé de commencer à travailler sur le sujet en mars 2020. En juillet 2020, Gamma Pulse obtenait le financement d’une industrie afin de développer son premier prototype et de le breveter.

Après des tests en laboratoire, le premier prototype, destiné aux hôpitaux, a été présenté sur le stand Institut Polytechnique de Paris lors du salon Viva Technology. Le dispositif purifie entre 1 et 6 mètres cubes par minutes, soit jusqu’à 360 mètres cubes par heure.

 

1

 

Gamma Pulse dans le futur ?

Dans le futur, Gamma Pulse souhaite maintenir sa production en France pour les restaurants et les hôpitaux et donner des licences aux grandes industries pour d’autres applications à l’international.

Ils souhaitent également revenir sur leur projet de base de détecter des explosifs et des substances nucléaires dissimulées grâce aux financements récoltés par KillViD™, leur système de purification.

 

Un conseil ?

L’entrepreneuriat nécessite beaucoup de passion. Le début est toujours dur, il faut être très investi.

Selon Carmen Dumitrescu, la CEO de Gamma Pulse, il faut être têtu, mordu : le plus dur, c’est d’être son propre chef.

Tout est possible, l’impossible prend juste un peu plus de temps