Skip to main content

MyndBlue: AI-derived prognostic biomarkers offer better mental health prevention

Denis Fompeyrine, clinical psychologist by training, was confronted to the fact that the treatment of depression and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) has a high failure rate. To address this issue, he founded MyndBlue in 2015, that has developed a digital therapy solution with artificial intelligence for the automated monitoring of patients suffering from depression or PTSD. The startup is currently incubated in the X-Tech program, the incubator for advanced technology companies.


A major problem to address

In the case of depression, the relapse rate is estimated at 50%. This rate can be explained by the fact that most of the time, poor follow-up or the abandonment of treatment by the patient leads to the sudden reappearance of symptoms.

Moreover, each depression is unique and no predictive bio-marker is known: it is therefore imperative to treat each patient in a personalized way by extracting relevant information from the patient's continuous physiological data. Such monitoring is of course out of reach for a human being in a reasonable time.

Therefore, MyndBlue uses different algorithms from the field of Artificial Intelligence to identify patient-specific prognostic markers.

MyndBlue's goal is to provide psychiatrists and general practitioners with critical medical information and patient progression scenarios to anticipate risk and determine the best treatment options.

 

myndblue

 

MyndBlue in the next few years

Today, the daily enrichment of the MyndBlue medical database and the efficiency of the technology will soon allow the deployment of the product in its regulatory framework. All of the startup's efforts are focused on perfecting and making the product available as quickly as possible for the benefit of patients and physicians.

The important thing is to grow MyndBlue by finding the support and partners that will allow us to have the greatest impact.

MyndBlue has established close relationships with internationally renowned researchers in the field of artificial intelligence and recently received an award from the Office of Naval Research in the United States, which has a history of supporting major impact projects since 1946.

 

The entrepreneurial adventure

For Denis, entrepreneurship was a trigger. According to him, it is the best method to find solutions with impact.

When you want to solve a complex problem, you have to take the necessary risks.

MyndBlue wasn't founded like most startups. Instead of building a technology and then trying to sell it, it was the other way around: MyndBlue started with the problem at hand and developed the technology that enables the greatest patient impact.

Scientific entrepreneurs must know how to manage risk areas and are always on the edge: scientific risk, financial risk... you have to commit yourself without limits but avoid being too rash.

Any advice? You have to create your own luck and remain modest when it comes.

For more information >>>  https://myndblue.ai/

An article co-authored by Denis Fompeyrine : Enhancing Human-Machine Teaming for Medical Prognosis Through Neural Ordinary Differential Equations

Skip to main content

MyndBlue : des bio-marqueurs de pronostic issus de l’IA offrent une meilleure prévention en santé mentale

Denis Fompeyrine, psychologue clinicien de formation, a fait face à un constat : le traitement de la dépression et du trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT) subit un grand taux d’échec. Pour apporter une réponse à ce constat, il a fondé MyndBlue en 2015, qui a développé une solution de thérapeutique numérique dotée d’intelligence artificielle pour le suivi automatisé des patients souffrant de dépression ou TSPT. La startup est actuellement incubée dans le programme X-Tech, l’incubateur pour entreprises technologiques avancées.


Un problème majeur à adresser

Dans le cas de la dépression, le taux de rechute est évalué à 50%. Ce taux s’explique par le fait que la plupart du temps un mauvais suivi ou l’abandon du traitement par le patient occasionne la réapparition brutale des symptômes.

De plus, chaque dépression est unique et aucun bio-marqueur prédictif n’est connu : il est donc impératif de traiter chaque patient de façon personnalisée en extrayant des informations pertinentes à partir des données physiologiques en continu du patient. Un tel suivi est, bien sûr, hors de portée pour un être humain dans un temps raisonnable.

Par conséquent, MyndBlue utilise différents algorithmes issus du domaine de l’Intelligence Artificielle afin d’identifier des marqueurs de pronostic spécifiques à chaque patient.

L’objectif de MyndBlue est d’offrir aux psychiatres et aux médecins généralistes des informations médicales décisives ainsi que des scénarios d’évolution du patient pour pouvoir anticiper les risques et déterminer les meilleures options thérapeutiques.

myndblue

 

MyndBlue dans les prochaines années

Aujourd’hui, l’enrichissement quotidien de la base de données médicales MyndBlue et l’efficacité de la technologie vont bientôt permettre le déploiement du produit dans son cadre réglementaire. Tous les efforts de la startup sont centrés sur le perfectionnement et la mise à disposition du produit le plus rapidement possible, pour le plus grand bénéfice des patients et des médecins.

L’important est de faire grandir MyndBlue en trouvant le soutien et les partenaires qui nous permettront d’avoir le plus d’impact possible.

MyndBlue a noué d’étroites relations avec des chercheurs de renommée internationale dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle et a reçu récemment un Award de l'Office of Naval Research aux États-Unis qui est historiquement réputé depuis 1946 pour soutenir des projets à impact majeur.

 

L’aventure entrepreneuriale

Pour Denis Fomperyrine, l’entrepreneuriat a été un déclic. Selon lui, c’est la meilleure méthode pour trouver des solutions à impact.

Quand on veut résoudre un problème complexe, il faut prendre les risques nécessaires.

MyndBlue ne s’est pas fondée comme la plupart des startups. En effet, au lieu de monter une technologie puis d’essayer de la vendre, ce fut l’inverse : MyndBlue est parti du problème posé et a développé la technologie qui permet d’avoir le meilleur impact patient.

Les entrepreneurs scientifiques doivent savoir gérer des zones de risque et sont tout le temps sur le fil : risque scientifique, risque financier... il faut s’engager sans limite mais en évitant d’être trop téméraire.

Un conseil ? Il faut créer sa chance et rester modeste quand elle arrive.

En savoir plus >>> https://myndblue.ai/

Un article co-rédigé par Denis Fompeyrine : https://arxiv.org/abs/2102.04121