Skip to main content

Make the blind and visually impaired run independently with RunBlind

Incubated in the X-Up #11 and X-Up #12 classes, the RunBlind startup is now part of the X-Tech program. Today, 285 million people are blind or visually impaired in the world. Thanks to its dynamic 3D sound guidance solution, RunBlind allows to alleviate this important problem.


A real market to conquer

RunBlind's ambition is to guide people with its dynamic 3D sound technology. It takes up and industrializes the research work carried out by the Center of Applied Mathematics of the École Polytechnique.

The startup responds to a real problem: accessibility to sports for blind or visually impaired people. The idea is simple: to use dynamic 3D sound, also called binaural sound, to guide people practicing a sport. Binaural sound is an auditory artifact, i.e. an apparent sound that is perceived in the brain due to a specific physical stimulus. So far, studies have not resulted in a device that is sufficiently portable and responsive for sports practice.

In theory, the device is in a backpack that weighs 2.7kg and is therefore impractical. But RunBlind has succeeded in developing a miniaturized version of the device which today weighs only 180g: the weight of a cell phone.

prototype

The idea for the project came from two researchers: François Alouges, a mathematics researcher, and a PhD student, Sylvain Ferrand. It was founded in cooperation with Philippe Le Borgne, a graduate in computer science and creator of several companies in this field.

 

The passage through X-Up and the integration of X-Tech

The X-Up incubation program brought RunBlind skills in the field of communication but also help to create their business model and a lot of input regarding industrial protection and patents.

During the X-Up program, RunBlind was able to choose three very complementary mentors who are very useful to them, whether on strategic, financial or operational aspects.

Being an entrepreneur is a state of mind: you think about it all the time, without stopping - Philippe Le Borgne, Co-founder and CEO

The integration of the X-Tech gas pedal will allow them to remain in the Polytechnique ecosystem, which is particularly important to them. Moreover, François Alouges (Co-founder and CPO) is a researcher at the Ecole Polytechnique and Sylvain Ferrand is a research engineer there: it is therefore important for RunBlind to remain on campus. 

 

RunBlind in a few years?

The next steps for the startup will be to market the product in an even more accomplished and miniaturized way than today. RunBlind also wishes to open up to other markets, in particular by integrating its technology for rollerblading or even cycling... whereas currently, it is mainly used for running.

The two markets currently targeted are leisure and even competition. The Paris 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games could be a very important showcase for RunBlind. However, other much larger markets are also being considered.

 

"RunBlind, follow us with your eyes closed”

Skip to main content

Faire courir les aveugles et les mal-voyants en pleine autonomie avec RunBlind

Incubée dans la promotion X-Up #11 puis X-Up #12, la startup Runblind intègre aujourd’hui le programme X-Tech. Aujourd’hui, 285 millions de personnes sont aveugles ou mal voyantes dans le monde. Grâce à sa solution de guidage sonore 3D dynamique RunBlind permet de pallier ce problème important.


Un réel marché à conquérir

RunBlind a pour ambition de guider les personnes grâce à sa technologie de son 3D dynamique. Elle reprend et industrialise les travaux de recherches menés par le Centre de Mathématiques Appliquées de l’École polytechnique.

La startup répond à un réel problème : l’accessibilité au sport pour les personnes aveugles ou mal voyantes. L’idée est simple : utiliser le son 3D dynamique, aussi dit son binaural, afin de guider les personnes pratiquant un sport. Le son binaural est un artéfact auditif, c'est-à-dire un son apparent dont la perception apparaît dans le cerveau en raison d'un stimulus physique spécifique. Jusqu’à présent, les études menées n’ont pas permis de développer un dispositif suffisamment portable et réactif pour la pratique sportive.

En théorie, le dispositif est dans un sac à dos qui pèse 2,7kg et qui est donc peu pratique. En revanche, RunBlind a réussi à développer une version miniaturisée du dispositif qui pèse, aujourd’hui, seulement 180g : le poids d’un téléphone portable.

prototype

L’idée du projet est issue de deux chercheurs : François Alouges, chercheur en mathématiques et un thésard, Sylvain Ferrand. Il a été fondé en coopération avec Philippe Le Borgne, diplômé en informatique et créateur de plusieurs entreprises dans ce domaine.

 

Le passage par X-Up et l’intégration de X-Tech

Le programme d’incubation X-Up a apporté à RunBlind des compétences dans le domaine de la communication, de l’aide pour créer leur business model et beaucoup d’apports en ce qui concerne la protection industrielle ou encore les brevets.

Durant le programme X-Up, RunBlind a pu choisir trois mentors très complémentaires qui leur sont très utiles, que ce soit sur des aspects stratégiques, financiers ou opérationnels.

Être entrepreneur, c’est un état d’esprit : on y pense tout le temps, sans arrêt - Philippe Le Borgne, Co fondateur et CEO

L’intégration de l’accélérateur X-Tech va leur permettre de rester dans l’écosystème polytechnicien, particulièrement important à leurs yeux. De plus, François Alouges (Co fondateur et CPO) est chercheur à l’Ecole polytechnique et Sylvain Ferrand y est ingénieur de recherche : il est donc important pour RunBlind de rester sur le campus.  

 

RunBlind dans quelques années ?

Les prochaines étapes pour la startup seront de commercialiser le produit de façon encore plus aboutie et miniaturisée qu’aujourd’hui. RunBlind souhaite également s’ouvrir sur d’autres marchés, notamment en intégrant sa technologie pour la pratique du roller, voire du vélo… alors qu’actuellement, elle est utilisée essentiellement pour la course à pied.

Les deux marchés visés actuellement sont ceux du loisir, voire celui de la compétition. Les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de Paris 2024 pourraient notamment être une vitrine très importante pour RunBlind. Toutefois d’autres marchés nettement plus larges sont aussi à l’étude.

 

« RunBlind, suivez-nous les yeux fermés »