Skip to main content

Artificial intelligence at the service of radiology and emergencies by Milvue

In emergencies, one emergency physician on duty often handles all the radiology reports when several physicians are often needed. Milvue is a solution for hospital staff, emergency physicians and radiologists that aims to make emergency services more fluid.


A real ambition

Milvue aims to fill a real gap in emergency services and offers a second radiological opinion to the emergency doctor thanks to artificial intelligence.

The technology developed can detect up to seven different pathologies, which represent 90% of the pathologies encountered in emergency departments: they can be osteoarticular (fractures, dislocations, joint effusions) or thoracic (pneumothorax, pulmonary nodule).

This solution is fast, has a very low margin of error and is unbiased. It is constantly improving, each time the algorithm receives new data.

 

And this is only the beginning

For the past two years, the startup has been housed at the Paris Biotech Santé incubator at the Cochin Hospital, an incubator that straddles the line between new technologies and medicine. As of September, it will be part of the incubator at the Cochin Hospital. Housed in these premises for three years, the goal is to hire 10 people each year to improve its solution and conquer new markets.

In the short term, the start up aims to raise funds this summer. It will allow them to meet the incoming demand for our solutions, to structure a sales, marketing and customer support force, and to continue the development of the Milvue Suite (n.b. extension of the emergency module to radiology more generally). By 2024, they want to make Milvue a major player in radiology AI in France, and extend this ambition internationally.

 

dd

 

The medical sector, a particularly regulated market

Thanks to the CE marking, the technology can be marketed everywhere in Europe for one year now. It is present in more or less twenty emergency centers in France and is being tested in about sixty throughout Europe. A development project with the AP-HP (Assistance Publique - Hôpitaux de Paris) is also underway.

A development in Canada and the United States is underway, particularly on the regulatory aspect. Milvue is in the process of conducting clinical studies in order to obtain the necessary accreditations in both countries (FDA and MDSAP).

 

Very different and complementary paths

Ronan, Malo and Antoine all met at the Ecole Polytechnique. While the first two were studying mathematics, the last one was doing web development. This multidisciplinarity, combined with the knowledge of Alexandre Parpaleix, radiologist, allowed them to form a very good team. 

His presence in the team brought a certain credibility to the project. The world of radiology being rather closed, he was able to act as a spokesperson and to make the technology accepted in this environment.

According to Ronan Riochet, co-founder, X helped him on the technical side but especially on its notoriety, which brings a pledge of seriousness and real skills to a person who studied there.

His advice? Don't hesitate to surround yourself with people, know where you want to go, what you want to do, don't be afraid to learn.

Skip to main content

L’intelligence artificielle au service de la radiologie et des urgences par Milvue

Aux urgences, un urgentiste de garde s’occupe souvent de tous les comptes rendus de radiologie alors qu’il faudrait souvent plusieurs médecins. Milvue est une solution qui s’adresse au personnel hospitalier, aux médecins urgentistes et aux radiologues et qui a pour objectif de fluidifier les services d’urgence.


Une vraie ambition

Milvue a pour but de combler un réel manque dans les services d’urgence et propose un second avis radiologique au médecin urgentiste grâce à l’intelligence artificielle.

La technologie développée peut détecter jusqu’à sept pathologies différentes, qui représentent 90% des pathologies rencontrées aux urgences : elles peuvent être ostéoarticulaires (fractures, luxations, épanchements articulaires) ou thoraciques (pneumothorax, nodule pulmonaire).

Cette solution est rapide, a une très faible marge d’erreur et est non biaisée. Elle s’améliore en permanence, à chaque fois que l’algorithme reçoit de nouvelles données.

 

Et ce n’est que le début

Depuis deux ans, la start up était hébergée à l’incubateur Paris Biotech Santé à l’hôpital Cochin, un incubateur à cheval entre les nouvelles technologies et la médecine. A partir de septembre, elle fera partie de la pépinière de l’hôpital Cochin. Hébergée dans ces locaux pour trois ans, le but est d’embaucher 10 personnes chaque année afin d’améliorer sa solution et de conquérir de nouveaux marchés.

A court terme, la start up a pour but de faire une levée de fonds cet été. Elle leur permettra de répondre à la demande entrante pour nos solutions, de structurer une force commerciale, marketing et de support client, et de poursuivre le développement de la Milvue Suite (n.b. extension du module d'urgence à la radiologie de façon plus générale). A l’horizon 2024, ils souhaitent faire de Milvue un acteur majeur de l'IA en radiologie en France, et étendre cette ambition à l'international.

 

dd

 

Le médical, un marché particulièrement règlementé

Grace au marquage CE, la technologie peut être commercialisée partout en Europe depuis maintenant un an. Elle est présente dans plus ou moins vingt centres d’urgences en France et en essai dans une soixantaine aux quatre coins de l’Europe. Un projet de développement avec l’AP-HP (Assistance Publique - Hôpitaux de Paris) est également en œuvre.

Un développement au Canada et aux Etats-Unis est en cours, notamment sur l’aspect règlementaire. Milvue est en train de réaliser des études cliniques afin d’obtenir les accréditations nécessaires dans les deux pays (FDA et MDSAP).

 

Des parcours très différents et complémentaires

Ronan, Malo et Antoine se sont tous les trois rencontrés à l’Ecole polytechnique. Tandis que les deux premiers étudiaient les mathématiques, le dernier faisait du développement web. Cette multidisciplinarité, conjointe avec les connaissances d’Alexandre Parpaleix, radiologue, leur a permis de former une très bonne équipe.  

Sa présence dans l’équipe a permis d’apporter une certaine crédibilité au projet. Le monde de la radiologie étant assez fermé, il a pu servir de porte-parole et faire accepter la technologie à ce milieu.

Selon Ronan Riochet, co-fondateur, l’X l’a aidé sur la partie technique mais surtout sur sa notoriété, qui apporte un gage de sérieux et de réelles compétences à une personne qui y a étudié.

Ses conseils ? Ne pas hésiter à bien s’entourer, savoir où on veut aller, ce qu’on veut faire, ne pas avoir peur d’apprendre.