Skip to main content

Paris&Co and X-Novation: building bridges for innovation

On the occasion of the renewal of the partnership between Paris&Co and X-Novation, the entrepreneurship and innovation center of the École Polytechnique, we interviewed Loïc Dosseur, Managing Director of Paris&Co, about this beneficial partnership for both structures.


What is Paris&Co?

"Paris&Co is a non-profit association with a general interest mission to contribute to the economic development of Paris and its metropolis through innovation," explains Loïc Dosseur.

The organization supports more than 500 French and foreign start-ups each year, via its 12 sector-based innovation platforms in the fields of sports, e-sports, fintech, human resources, the food sector, health, tourism and sustainable cities. These platforms are co-constructed with more than 120 large companies and institutions that collaborate with start-ups in an open innovation approach.

"As managing director, my role at Paris&Co is to provide a vision, organize the work of the teams and mobilize our various partners according to the needs of the start-ups we support," says Loïc Dosseur.

Loïc Dosseur has a background marked by innovation, even before taking the position of CEO of Paris&Co in 2014. He was notably deputy director of Scientipôle Initiative, a structure that supports and finances young innovative companies in Île-de-France, and then chief of staff to Jean-Louis Missika, deputy mayor of Paris in charge of innovation, research and universities from 2010 to 2014.

"I am not an engineer by training, says Loïc Dosseur. What interests me is improvement, positive transformation: how can we mobilize skills from research to improve service or product responses in all sectors? The objective of Paris&Co is to move start-ups from state 1 to state 2, to improve the performance of companies and to develop the region. Innovation is a tool to stay competitive."

The partnership between Paris&Co and X-Novation

The partnership between Paris&Co and X-Novation was set up in 2019, in connection with the launch of the Research&Co program, a cross-functional initiative for all incubators. The goal was to build bridges between Paris&Co and research.

"The creation of the Recherche&Co program started from a simple observation: our structure was too little connected to higher education and research, yet we realized that start-ups needed to recruit talent and access cutting-edge technologies," explains Loïc Dosseur.

Recherche&Co has enabled us to create links with research and higher education players. The start-ups supported have been able to get closer to science and detect opportunities for innovative projects.

When looking for academic players, the Paris&Co team noticed the large number of entrepreneurs coming from the École Polytechnique. It was therefore natural for the organization to turn to X-Novation, the École Polytechnique's entrepreneurship and innovation center, to form a partnership with the X-Up incubator.

“Paris&Co also incubates start-ups, but that didn't bother us," says Loïc Dosseur. We have not developed the same services and the X-Up incubator is upstream from what Paris&Co offers, so we are complementary.”

photo paris and co

“I'm delighted because this partnership is already bearing fruit, says Loïc Dosseur. I was very surprised because everything came together very quickly, and both parties quickly believed in this system. Our teams managed to find common ground and it's working very well! In one year, 32 start-ups have already benefited from this partnership between Paris&Co and X-Novation. I would like to thank the École Polytechnique teams for their confidence," says Loïc Dosseur.

For all these reasons, the partnership between X-Novation and Paris&Co has been renewed for another three years.

Skip to main content

Paris&Co et X-Novation : intensifier les passerelles au service de l’innovation

A l’occasion du renouvellement du partenariat entre Paris&Co et X-Novation, le centre d’entrepreneuriat et d’innovation de l’École polytechnique, nous avons interrogé Loïc Dosseur, directeur général de Paris&Co au sujet de ce partenariat bénéfique pour les deux structures.


Paris&Co, qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Paris&Co est une association à but non lucratif, avec une mission d’intérêt général qui est de contribuer au développement économique de Paris et de sa métropole par l’innovation”, expose Loïc Dosseur.

La structure accompagne plus de 500 start-up françaises et étrangères par an, via ses 12 plateformes d’innovation sectorielle autour du sport, de l’e-sport, de la fintech, des ressources humaines, du secteur alimentaire, de la santé, du tourisme ou encore de la ville durable. Ces plateformes sont co-construites avec plus de 120 grandes entreprises et institutions qui collaborent avec les start-up dans une démarche d’open innovation.

En tant que directeur général, mon rôle au sein de Paris&Co est d’apporter une vision, d’organiser le travail des équipes et de mobiliser nos différents partenaires selon les besoins des start-up que nous accompagnons”, déclare Loïc Dosseur.

Loic Dosseur, directeur général de Paris & Co


Loïc Dosseur a un parcours marqué par l’innovation, avant même de prendre le poste de directeur général de Paris&Co en 2014. Il a notamment été directeur adjoint de Scientipôle Initiative, une structure qui accompagne et finance les jeunes entreprises innovantes en Île-de-France, puis chef de cabinet de Jean-Louis Missika, adjoint au Maire de Paris en charge de l’innovation, de la recherche et des universités de 2010 à 2014.

Je ne suis pas ingénieur de formation, précise Loïc Dosseur. Ce qui m’intéresse, c’est l’amélioration, la transformation positive : comment mobiliser des compétences issues de la recherche pour améliorer des réponses de services ou de produits dans tous les secteurs ? L’objectif de Paris&Co est de faire passer les start-up d’un état 1 à un état 2, d’améliorer les performances des entreprises et de développer le territoire. L’innovation est un outil pour rester compétitif”.

Le partenariat entre Paris&Co et X-Novation

Le partenariat entre Paris&Co et X-Novation a été mis en place en 2019, en lien avec le lancement du programme Recherche&Co, une initiative transversale à l’ensemble des incubateurs. Le but était de créer des ponts entre Paris&Co et la recherche.

La création du programme Recherche&Co est parti d’un constat simple : notre structure était trop peu connectée à l’enseignement supérieur et à la recherche, or nous nous sommes aperçus que les start-up avaient besoin de recruter des talents et d’accéder à des technologies de pointe”, explique Loïc Dosseur.

Recherche&Co a permis de créer des liens avec les acteurs de la recherche et de l’enseignement supérieur. Les start-up accompagnées ont pu se rapprocher de la science et détecter des opportunités de projets innovants.

En recherchant des acteurs académiques, l’équipe de Paris&Co s’est aperçue du grand nombre d’entrepreneurs provenant de l’École polytechnique. Il a donc été naturel pour la structure de se tourner vers X-Novation, le centre d’entrepreneuriat et d’innovation de l’École polytechnique afin de nouer un partenariat avec l’incubateur X-Up.

Paris&Co incube également des start-up, mais cela ne nous a pas dérangé, affirme Loïc Dosseur. Nous n’avons pas développé les mêmes services et l’incubateur X-Up arrive en amont par rapport à ce que Paris&Co propose, nous sommes donc complémentaires”.

photo paris and co

Je suis ravi car ce partenariat porte déjà ses fruits, assure Loïc Dosseur. J’ai été très surpris car tout s’est structuré très vite, les deux parties ont rapidement cru à ce dispositif. Nos équipes ont réussi à trouver un terrain d’entente et ça fonctionne très bien ! En un an, 32 start-up ont déjà pu bénéficier de ce partenariat entre Paris&Co et X-Novation. Merci aux équipes de l’École polytechnique pour leur confiance”, souligne Loïc Dosseur.

Pour toutes ces raisons, le partenariat entre X-Novation et Paris&Co est renouvelé pour 3 ans supplémentaires.