Skip to main content

X-UP PROMO #13 : FROM SANDBOX TO PLAYGROUND

Rome wasn't built in a day, and neither were the GAFAs. Behind every successful company is an entire organization structured around extensive market research, financing and impactful pitches.

bac a sable

École Polytechnique, with its X-Up program, has set up a six-month incubation period for "early stage" startups. These startups are those that initiate product development, build a customer base and establish a solid cash flow.

The startups supported are part of the most important industries today: health, energy, finance, industry 4.0, aerospace etc... On May 31, the X incubator will launch the thirteenth edition of its incubation program, X-Up Promo #13, with its pre-incubation period also known as the "sandbox."

"The sandbox is a pre-incubation period that lasts two weeks during which the pre-selected start-ups are challenged and confront their projects with feedback from experts" explains Roberta Camera, head of the X-Up incubation program.

This period is also an opportunity for the X-Up incubator to assess the motivation of the project leaders/entrepreneurs and to decide whether their approach can be supported in a concrete way.

The pre-incubation period is structured on two axes:

Week 1 : Boost your start-up and develop your ecosystem

The first week is an opportunity for the start-ups to work intensively on their respective projects but also offers an opening to the X-Up ecosystem, its history, its services and its team. The entrepreneurs exchange with the X-UP team but also with the coaches of INSKIP, a consultancy for innovators and entrepreneurs who are guided in the areas of strategy, personality development and business development. Through participation in five workshops, start-ups work on their ecosystem, entrepreneurial posture, value proposition, market analysis, and customer discovery techniques. In addition, their business model is challenged by a domain expert, Phillipe Baud. To conclude the week, participants meet with the CEOs of start-ups from the center's ecosystem with interventions from the co-founders of Exotrail, Sensome, Zinium and Bubble who share their success stories in turn.

Week 2 : Discover prototyping and improve your communication

The objective of the second week of the sandbox is to better know the entrepreneurs, their soft skills and to evaluate the complementarity of the team. Indeed, through a workshop on theatrical improvisation, set up by Next level Formation, a specialist in the field, it will be possible to evaluate the fundamental skills of an entrepreneur: stress management, listening, audacity, the ability to make mistakes, taking a step back...

There will also be the possibility to participate in a challenge in the prototyping space of the center. The opportunity to allow participants to experience in real time what it can mean to go from an idea to a prototype. This is made possible thanks to the activities organized by the center's prototyping engineers and designers.

During this period, the entrepreneurs will also focus on communication. A specific work to improve their pitch, which will be led by Diane Gaillard. Co-founder of Consultancy32, Diane has been a trainer in communication for executives and managers of start-ups and large groups since 2006. She is also a professor of international communication.

What's next? 

The end of the sandbox includes a presentation of the project by the entrepreneurs in front of an external selection committee that evaluates its feasibility and gives its decision on possible support.

Validated participating start-ups will be able to move on to the next stages of incubation. These stages will include building the MVP, validating the business plan, defining financing, and ending with a pitch to investors in December 2021.

Skip to main content

X-UP PROMO #13 : DU BAC A SABLE AU TERRAIN DE JEU

Rome ne s'est pas construite en un jour, les GAFA non plus. Derrière chaque entreprise prospère se trouve toute une organisation structurée autour d’études de marché extensives, de financements et de pitchs impactants.

bac a sable

L’École polytechnique, avec son programme X-Up, a mis en place une période d’incubation de six mois à destination des startups « early stage ». Ces start-up sont celles qui initient le développement de produits, la construction d'une base de clients et l'établissement d'un flux de trésorerie solide.

Les start-up accompagnées font partie des industries les plus importantes de nos jours : la santé, l’énergie, la finance, industrie 4.0, l’aérospatial etc... Le 31 mai prochain, l’incubateur de l’X lancera la treizième édition de son programme d’incubation, X-Up Promo #13, avec sa période de pré-incubation également connue sous l’appellation « bac à sable ».

« Le bac à sable est une période de pré-incubation qui dure deux semaines durant laquelle les start-up présélectionnées sont challengées et confrontent leurs projets à des retours d’experts » explique Roberta Camera, responsable du programme d’incubation X-Up.

Cette période est également l'occasion pour l'incubateur X-Up de rendre compte de la motivation des porteurs de projets/ entrepreneurs et décider si leur démarche peut être soutenue concrètement.

La période de pré-incubation est structurée sur deux axes :

Semaine 1 : Booster votre start-up et développer votre écosystème

La première semaine est une opportunité pour les start-up de travailler intensément sur leurs projets respectifs mais offre également une ouverture à l’écosystème X-Up, son histoire, ses prestations et son équipe. Les entrepreneurs échangent avec l’équipe d’X-UP mais également avec les coachs d’INSKIP, un conseil pour les innovateurs et entrepreneurs qui sont guidés dans les domaines de la stratégie, le développement de la personnalité. Grace à la participation à cinq ateliers les start-up travaillent sur leur écosystème, la posture entrepreneuriale, la proposition de valeur, l’analyse du marché, et les techniques en ce qui concerne la découverte du client. De plus, leur business model est challengé par un expert du domaine, Phillipe Baud. Afin de conclure la semaine, les participants rencontrent les CEO de start up de l’écosystème du centre avec des interventions des co-fondateurs de Exotrail, Sensome, Zinium et Bubble qui partagent chacun leur tour, l’histoire de leur réussite.

Semaine 2 : Découvrez le prototypage et améliorez votre communication

L’objectif de la deuxième semaine du bac à sable est de mieux connaitre les entrepreneurs, leur soft skills et évaluer la complémentarité de l’équipe. En effet, à travers un atelier sur l’improvisation théâtrale, mis en place par Next level Formation, spécialiste du domaine sera possible évaluer les compétences fondamentales d’un entrepreneur : la gestion du stress, l’écoute, l’audacité, le rapport à l’erreur, la prise de recul…

Il y aura également la possibilité de participer à un challenge dans l’espace de prototypage du centre. L’occasion de permettre aux participants d’expérimenter en temps réel ce que cela peut représenter de passer d’une idée à un prototype. Rendu possible grâce aux activités organisées par les ingénieurs de prototypage et designer du centre.

Durant cette période, les entrepreneurs se focaliseront pareillement sur la communication. Un travail spécifique afin d’améliorer leur pitchs, qui sera dirigé par Diane Gaillard. Co-fondatrice de Consultancy32, Diane a été formatrice en communication pour cadres et dirigeants de start-up et de et de grands groupes depuis 2006. Elle est également professeur de communication internationale.

La suite ?

La fin du bac à sable inclut une présentation de projet par les entrepreneurs devant un comité de sélection externe qui évalue sa faisabilité et donne sa décision sur un soutien possible.

Les start-up participantes validées pourront passer aux prochaines étapes de l’incubation. L’ensemble de ces étapes vont inclure la construction du MVP, la validation du business plan, la définition de financement et terminera avec un pitch devant les investisseurs en décembre 2021.