Skip to main content

How does data influence medicine? Medicen presentation

During our next X-Novation Talks on Biotech, we discussed the topic of personalized medicine thanks to data with Julie Baussand, health innovation project manager at Medicen, the competitiveness cluster for innovative health technologies in Ile de France.


The importance of data for personalized medicine

First of all, what is personalized medicine? This approach to medicine consists of adapting treatments according to the characteristics of patients and their diseases. The goal is to provide patients with highly accurate diagnoses and personalized care.

Personalized medicine is made possible by the analysis of health data, in particular thanks to Big Data. Health data allows us to better predict patient responses to different treatment options and to avoid side effects as much as possible.

We also talk about 4P medicine," adds Julie Baussand. Personalized, predictive, preventive and participatory. Personalized because it is based on the patient's specific data, Predictive because it makes it possible to assess the risk of developing diseases or responding to a treatment, Preventive because it promotes actions to preserve the patient's health and finally Participatory because by sharing their data, the patient becomes an actor in their health.

Thanks to personalized medicine, healthcare professionals are offering patients an optimized care pathway. Data comes from computerized patient records, connected objects, health applications, etc. Their strength lies in gathering this data and analyzing it, particularly with artificial intelligence software. 

The ambition of 4P medicine is to profoundly transform the healthcare system by basing it more on personalized prevention rather than on a collective curative approach.

The influence of data on current medicine

To date, digital health that fosters the development of 4P medicine is in its infancy, but Covid-19 has accelerated the adoption of digital solutions and the sharing of health data, resulting in particular in the deployment of the Health Data Hub that was launched earlier than expected during the crisis, explains Julie Baussand.

Data is perceived as a real goldmine in the healthcare field and there is a real desire to exploit it to improve patient care. Numerous initiatives are emerging, particularly within university hospitals, to provide access to this data in order to promote innovation in healthcare while preserving patient safety.

To help the ecosystem on the road to sharing health data, Medicen has set up a roadmap dedicated to the challenges of health data and related digital solutions. In particular, "Meet My Data", a monthly meeting whose objective is to decipher the existing health data panorama, identify the players and thus encourage collaborative projects around health data.

Nevertheless, the acceleration of the exploitation of data and digital health solutions depends on several necessary aspects to be addressed in their entirety.  For example, regulated and secure access to health data, the use of reliable and explainable artificial intelligence, system interoperability, data quality and standardization, etc.

France is evolving on these subjects and is organizing itself to provide solutions and structure the ecosystem, notably at the European level with initiatives such as TEDHaS or GAIA-X. Abroad, the digital transformation of the healthcare system and the use of health data is underway, for example in Germany with the DiGA (Digital Health Applications), which by allowing the reimbursement of digital solutions will accelerate their adoption, the development of start-ups and the generation of health data.

The will to move forward is very much present in France," says Julie Baussand. There is a strong national will from politicians and the ecosystem. Medicen is organizing a virtual event on the use of real-life data in decision-making on June 11, 2021. It's a morning of restitution of the work done in the framework of the AI and Health program of the CSF Health Industries and Technology and led by ARIIS.

Data protection: the challenge of personalized medicine

Among the keys to promoting the development of health data analysis in France, the protection of patients and their data is a major issue.

One example is the controversy surrounding the choice of Microsoft to host the Health Data Hub platform, because of the Cloud Act, which under certain conditions allows American authorities to access data hosted by American companies, regardless of their location. In response, the hosting provider is expected to change within 2 years if a better technical solution is proposed.

From my perspective, patients are quite willing to share this data for research and innovation purposes, but only if they have confidence that the data will be secure and used appropriately. Trust is the key to structuring this ecosystem and moving forward. This is Medicen's objective, explains Julie Baussand

The role of Medicen

Medicen is the healthcare competitiveness cluster of the Ile de France region. It was created in 2005 and aims to bring together the private and public healthcare ecosystem to develop innovative solutions for patients.

Medicen is organized into three sectors: Biotech, MedTech and E-health, with cross-cutting issues such as health data. The cluster has 3 levers of action to support the health and innovation sector

  • Supporting players in the ecosystem (over 500 members) in the emergence and development of innovation projects;
  • Guiding project leaders towards dilutive and non-dilutive financing mechanisms;
  • Supporting the development of companies in Europe and internationally.

X-Novation Talks : Biotech et innovations

Want to learn more about personalized medicine? Don't miss the next X-Novation Talks on the topic of Biotech and related innovations. The invited experts will address the subject of health data, artificial intelligence software and globally the medicine of the future.

In addition to Julie Baussand, head of health innovation projects at Medicen, you will have the pleasure of discussing with Stéphane Bidet, CEO of Hillo, Louis-Oscar Morel, CEO of Ummon HealthTech and Marc Lavielle, director of research in statistics at INRIA and professor at the Applied Mathematics Center of the École Polytechnique.

Register

Skip to main content

Comment la data influence t-elle la médecine ? | Présentation de Medicen

A l’occasion de notre prochain X-Novation Talks sur la Biotech, nous avons abordé le sujet de la médecine personnalisée grâce à la data avec Julie Baussand, chef de projets innovation santé chez Medicen, le pôle de compétitivité des technologies innovantes pour la santé en Ile de France. 


L’importance des données pour la médecine personnalisée

Tout d’abord, qu’est-ce que la médecine personnalisée ? Cette approche de la médecine consiste à adapter les traitements selon les caractéristiques des patients et de leurs maladies. L’objectif est d’apporter aux patients des diagnostics d’une grande précision et une prise en charge personnalisée.

La médecine personnalisée est rendue possible par l’analyse de données de santé, notamment grâce au big data. Les données de santé permettent de mieux prédire les réponses du patient aux différents traitements possibles et d’éviter au maximum les effets secondaires.

On parle également de médecine 4P, ajoute Julie Baussand. Personnalisée, prédictive, préventive et participative. Personnalisée car elle se base sur les données spécifiques du patient, Prédictive car elle permet d’évaluer le risque de développer des maladies ou de réponse à un traitement, Préventive car elle favorise les actions pour préserver la santé du patient et enfin Participative car en partageant ses données, le patient devient acteur de sa santé.

Grâce à la médecine personnalisée, les professionnels de santé offrent aux patients un parcours de soins optimisé. Les données proviennent de dossiers patients informatisés, d’objets connectés, d’applications de santé, etc. Leur force se situe dans le regroupement de ces données et leur analyse, notamment avec des logiciels d’intelligence artificielle. 

L’ambition de la médecine 4P est de transformer profondément le système de santé en le fondant davantage sur la prévention personnalisée plutôt que sur une approche curative collective.

L’influence de la data sur la médecine actuelle

A ce jour, la santé digitale qui favorise le développement de la médecine 4P en est à ses prémices mais le Covid-19 a permis d’accélérer l’adoption des solutions numériques et le partage des données de santé, ce qui s’est notamment traduit par le déploiement du Health Data Hub lancé plus tôt que prévu pendant la crise, explique Julie Baussand.

La data est perçue comme une véritable mine d’or dans le domaine de la santé et on note une véritable volonté de l’exploiter pour améliorer la prise en charge des patients. De nombreuses initiatives voient le jour, notamment au sein des CHU, pour donner l’accès à ces données afin de favoriser l’innovation en santé tout en préservant la sécurité des patients.

Pour aider l'écosystème dans la voie du partage des données de santé, Medicen a mis en place une feuille de route dédiée aux enjeux des données de santé et solutions numériques associées. Notamment “Meet My Data”, un rendez-vous mensuel dont l’objectif est de décrypter le panorama des données de santé existantes, d’identifier les acteurs et ainsi de favoriser les projets collaboratifs autour des données de santé.

Néanmoins, l'accélération de l’exploitation des données et des solutions numériques de santé dépend de plusieurs aspects nécessaires à aborder dans leur globalité.  Par exemple, l'accès réglementé et sécurisé aux données de santé, l’utilisation d’une intelligence artificielle fiable et explicable, l’interopérabilité des systèmes, la qualité et la standardisation des données, etc.

La France évolue sur ces sujets et s’organise dans ce sens pour apporter des solutions et structurer l'écosystème, notamment au niveau européen avec des initiatives telles que TEDHaS ou GAIA-X. A l’étranger, la transformation digitale du système de santé et l’utilisation des données de santé est en marche, par exemple en Allemagne avec le DiGA (Digital Health Applications) qui en permettant le remboursement de solutions digitales va accélérer leur adoption, le développement des start-ups et la génération de données de santé.

La volonté d’avancer est bien présente en France, souligne Julie Baussand. Il y a une forte volonté nationale des politiques et de l’écosystème. Medicen organise d’ailleurs un événement virtuel sur l’usage des données en vie réelle dans la prise de décision le 11 juin 2021. C’est une matinée de restitution du travail réalisé dans le cadre du programme IA et Santé du CSF Industries et Technologie de Santé et piloté par l’ARIIS.

Protection des données : l’enjeu de la médecine personnalisée

Parmi les clés pour favoriser le développement de l’analyse des données de santé en France, la protection des patients et de leurs données représente un enjeu majeur.

On pense par exemple à la polémique autour du choix de Microsoft pour héberger la plateforme du Health Data Hub, à cause du Cloud Act, qui permet sous certaines conditions aux autorités américaines d'accéder à des données hébergées par des sociétés américaines quelle que soit leur localisation. En réponse, l’hébergeur devrait changer d’ici 2 ans si une meilleure solution technique est proposée.

De mon point de vue, les patients sont plutôt enclins à partager ces données dans un objectif de recherche et d’innovation, mais uniquement s’ils ont la certitude que ces données seront sécurisées et utilisées à bon escient. La confiance est la clé pour structurer cet écosystème et avancer. C’est d’ailleurs l’objectif de Medicen, expose Julie Baussand.

Le rôle de Medicen

Medicen est le pôle de compétitivité santé de la région Île de France. Il a été créé en 2005 et a pour ambition de fédérer l’écosystème de santé privé et public, pour faire émerger des solutions d’innovation au service des patients.

Medicen est organisé en 3 filières : Biotech, MedTech et E-santé, avec des enjeux transversaux comme la donnée de santé (Health data). Le pôle dispose de 3 leviers d’action afin d’accompagner le secteur de la santé et de l’innovation :

  • l’accompagnement des acteurs de l’écosystème (+500 adhérents) à l’émergence et au développement des projets d’innovation ;
  • l’orientation des porteurs de projets vers des dispositifs de financement dilutifs et non-dilutifs ; 
  • l’accompagnement au développement des sociétés en Europe et à l’international. 

X-Novation Talks : Biotech et innovations 

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la médecine personnalisée ? Ne manquez pas le prochain X-Novation Talks sur le sujet de la Biotech et des innovations liées. Les experts invités aborderont le sujet des données de santé, des logiciels d’intelligence artificielle et globalement de la médecine du futur.

En plus de Julie Baussand, chef de projets innovation santé chez Medicen, vous aurez le plaisir d’échanger avec Stéphane Bidet, CEO de Hillo, Louis-Oscar Morel, CEO de Ummon HealthTech et Marc Lavielle, directeur de recherche en statistiques à l’INRIA et professeur au centre de mathématiques appliquées de l’École Polytechnique.

Inscrivez-vous