Skip to main content

Fokus: an at-home training for children with ADHD

Portrait of Fokus, a startup co-founded by Kamil Benkirane, a student in the X-HEC entrepreneurship master's program and graduate of a master's degree in neurotechnology.


Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is the most diagnosed neurodevelopmental disorder in children and adolescents in France. Fokus aims to re-educate the attention of children with ADHD through video games and neurotechnologies.

The principle is simple: a headset is placed on the child's head to record his or her brain activity and calculate a concentration score. According to his score, the child will be able to play different games: the more concentrated he is, the more the game advances. This mechanism helps him to visualize his attention and to train.

 

How did you get the idea for this project?

I have a passion for neurotechnology and then I discovered ADHD. It is a subject I know well because I am personally concerned. So I wanted to combine my passion for neurotechnologies and the subject of ADHD: it is a subject with an impact, which can really help people in the long term. I studied neurotechnology and got a master's degree in this field at Imperial College London and then I decided to join HEC to develop my entrepreneurial skills to be able to found Fokus.

 

hh

 

Have you encountered any difficulties during your entrepreneurial adventure?

The goal is to be able to certify Fokus as a medical device so that it can be considered as a treatment and thus be prescribed by doctors. For the time being, this does not represent a barrier since it will only be a concentration aid. On the other hand, the long-term challenge is for our solution to be recognized as a treatment, which requires two years of clinical trials. Today, we are using a headset that already exists and our goal is to provide children with the best possible experience through the application and games.

 

What will your victory in the student innovation day organized by the YES and the participation in entrepreneurial competitions in general bring you?

The prize money granted by Amazon Web Services is 1500 euros but also 1000 euros of credit at AWS, which will help us a lot. The fact of having won with AWS also brings us a mentor as well as a referent with whom we communicate a lot and who helps us on several aspects. In general, these competitions bring us visibility but also the validation of the entrepreneurial ecosystem in France.

 

What are the next steps for Fokus?

The next steps are to launch beta tests starting in July, with about thirty parents of ADHD children. We will provide them with a headset and the application which will allow us, after one month, to get the first results and feedback on the user experience in order to launch the product on the market in January 2022.

 

ll

 

The problem with ADHD is that the only treatment is a psychostimulant classified in France as a narcotic, it is a drug and it scares parents, especially when the child is young. Moreover, there is no alternative treatment to medication. Only 10% of ADHD patients are treated with medication and 90% remain without solution or treatment.

Fokus is positioned as both an alternative and a complement to medication, to allow people who refuse medication to be accompanied in the management of these disorders.

Skip to main content

Fokus : un entraînement à la maison pour les enfants qui souffrent de TDAH

Portrait de Fokus, une startup co-fondée par Kamil Benkirane, étudiant dans le master X-HEC entrepreneurs et diplômé d’un master en neurotechnologies.


Le Trouble du Déficit de l’Attention / Hyperactivité (TDAH) est le trouble du neurodéveloppement le plus diagnostiqué chez les enfants et les adolescents en France. Fokus vise à rééduquer l’attention des enfants atteints de TDAH grâce aux jeux vidéo et aux neurotechnologies.

Le principe est simple : on met un casque sur la tête de l’enfant qui permet de récupérer son activité cérébrale afin de calculer un score de concentration. En fonction de son score, l’enfant va pouvoir jouer à différents jeux : plus il est concentré, plus le jeu avance. Ce mécanisme l’aide donc à visualiser son attention et à s’entrainer.

 

Comment vous est venue l’idée de ce projet ?

J’ai une passion pour les neurotechnologies et par la suite, j’ai découvert le TDAH. C’est un sujet que je connais bien car je suis personnellement concerné. J’ai donc voulu combiner ma passion des neurotechnologies et le sujet des TDAH : c’est un sujet à impact, qui peut réellement aider les gens sur le long terme. J’ai étudié les neurotechnologies et j’ai obtenu un master dans ce domaine à l’Imperial College London puis j’ai décidé de rejoindre HEC afin de développer mes compétences entrepreneuriales pour pouvoir fonder Fokus.

kk

 

Avez-vous rencontre des difficultés au cours de votre aventure entrepreneuriale ?

Le but est de pouvoir certifier Fokus en tant que dispositif médical pour pouvoir être considéré comme un traitement et donc être prescrit par des médecins. Actuellement, cela ne représente pas une barrière puisqu’il s’agira seulement d’un produit d’aide à la concentration. En revanche, l’enjeu sur le long terme est que notre solution soit reconnue comme un traitement, ce qui nécessite deux ans d’essais cliniques. Aujourd’hui, nous utilisons un casque qui existe déjà et notre objectif est de fournir aux enfants la meilleure expérience possible à travers l’application et les jeux.

 

Que va vous apporter votre victoire au student innovation day organise par la YES et la participation a des concours entrepreneuriaux en général ?

La dotation octroyée par Amazon Web Services est de 1500 euros mais aussi de 1000 euros de crédit chez AWS, ce qui va beaucoup nous aider. Le fait d’avoir gagné avec AWS nous apporte également un mentorat ainsi qu’un référent avec lequel on communique beaucoup et qui nous aide sur plusieurs aspects. En règle générale, ces concours nous apportent de la visibilité mais aussi la validation de l’écosystème entrepreneurial en France.

 

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes pour Fokus ?

Les prochaines étapes sont de lancer les béta tests à partir de juillet, avec une trentaine de parents d’enfants TDAH. On leur fournira un casque et l’application ce qui nous permettra, au bout d’un mois, de récupérer les premiers résultats et les premiers retours sur l’expérience utilisateur afin de pouvoir lancer le produit sur le marché en janvier 2022.

 

ll

Le problème des TDAH est que le seul traitement est un psychostimulant classé en France comme stupéfiant, c’est une drogue et cela effraie les parents, surtout lorsque l’enfant est jeune. De plus, il n’existe aucun traitement alternatif aux médicaments Seulement 10% des TDAH sont traités par médicament et 90% restent sans solution et sans traitement.

Fokus se positionne alors à la fois comme une alternative et un complément aux médicaments, pour permettre aux gens qui refusent le traitement médicamenteux d’être tout de même accompagnés sur la gestion de ces troubles.