Skip to main content

Producing cannabinoids through plant biotechnology: the STHEMPTECH project

Driven by the growing number of situations of chronic physical or mental malaise and faced with the emergence of scientific and clinical interest in cannabis, Heloise and Naomi have built the STHEMPTECH project, with the ambition to enhance the properties of Cannabis, a natural alternative for a health and social issue.


A highly controlled process

The technology is simple: it aims to develop an innovative plant biotechnology process to produce cannabinoids, active therapeutic molecules from Cannabis sativa, the cannabis plant. This production is carried out in vitro, in a very controlled environment compared to agriculture, where all parameters can be controlled.

These molecules are intended to be sold in BtoB to nutraceutical, cosmetic or pharmaceutical industries. The medical sector will be reached in the longer term, around 2025.

 

In search of a highly regulated market

Cannabis and its molecules being coveted products, producing them in vitro presents a major advantage from the point of view of production security. Indeed, the biomass grows in a controlled, continuous environment and is therefore not affected by the seasonality of the field, nor by climatic hazards or contamination, which ensures stable yields with much higher levels of purity.

On the other hand, the barriers to the entry on this market are numerous. In France, cannabinoids must only come from legal varieties. At present, only fifteen varieties of Cannabis sativa are authorized, all of which produce very little cannabinoids. Moreover, in high doses, these molecules can constitute a medicine and for their production, it is necessary to pass by the national agency of the safety and the medicine (ANSM).

The agency also controls the R&D on the subject what implies that for any manipulation on varieties not legal in France but which carry an interesting potential, it is necessary the agreement of the ANSM.

photo

A very promising start

Both students in biotechnology at Sup Biotech, Naomi and Héloïse created this project as part of an innovation program during their training. After receiving very good feedback on their solution, they were awarded an incubation program at Genopole, the place dedicated to innovation in biotechnology where STHEMPTECH is now incubated. This support enabled them to learn about entrepreneurship, in order to acquire the skills needed to create their company.

Their victory of the PEPITE prize during the Student Innovation Day of the Young Entrepreneurship Society will support them from a financial point of view but will also bring them visibility, credibility and support in their company creation.

Their advice? Be convinced that you have a project that makes sense and surround yourself with the right people to ensure its viability.

The next steps for STHEMPTECH will be to optimize the process in order to validate it on a pilot scale and start a fundraising campaign.

Skip to main content

Produire des cannabinoïdes par les biotechnologies végétales : le projet STHEMPTECH

Animées par le constat grandissant de situations de mal-être physique ou mental chronique et face à l’émergence de l’intérêt scientifique et clinique pour le cannabis, Héloïse et Naomi ont construit le projet STHEMPTECH, avec pour ambition de valoriser les propriétés du Cannabis, une alternative naturelle pour un enjeux de santé et de société.


Un processus particulièrement contrôlé

La technologie est simple : elle vise à développer un procédé innovant de biotechnologie végétale pour produire des cannabinoïdes, molécules actives thérapeutiques issues de Cannabis sativa, la plante du cannabis. Cette production est réalisée in vitro, dans un environnement très contrôlé par rapport à l’agriculture, où tous les paramètres peuvent être maitrisés.

Ces molécules sont destinées à être vendues en BtoB à des industries nutraceutiques, cosmétiques ou pharmaceutiques. Le secteur médical sera atteint à plus long terme, aux environs de 2025.

 

En quête d’un marché très règlementé

Le cannabis et ses molécules étant des produits convoités, les produire in vitro présente un avantage majeur du point de vue de la sécurisation de la production. En effet, la biomasse croît en milieu contrôlé, en continu et n’est donc pas affectée par la saisonnalité du champs, ni par les aléas climatiques ou les contaminations, ce qui assure une stabilité des rendements avec des niveaux de pureté nettement supérieurs.

En revanche, les barrières à l’entrée sur ce marché sont nombreuses. En France, les cannabinoïdes doivent uniquement provenir de variétés légales. A l’heure actuelle, seules quinze variétés de Cannabis sativa sont autorisées, toutes très peu productrices en cannabinoïdes. De plus, à haute dose, ces molécules peuvent constituer un médicament et pour leur production, il faut passer par l’agence nationale de la sécurité et du médicament (ANSM).

L’agence contrôle également la R&D sur le sujet ce qui implique que pour toute manipulation sur des variétés non légales en France mais qui portent un potentiel intéressant, il faut l’accord de l’ANSM.

photo

 

Des débuts très prometteurs

Toutes deux étudiantes en biotechnologie au sein de l’école Sup Biotech, Naomi et Héloïse ont créé ce projet dans le cadre d’un programme d’innovation pendant de leur formation. Après avoir eu de très bons retours sur leur solution, elles ont été lauréates d’un programme d’incubation du Genopole, ce lieu dédié à l’innovation en biotechnologies où STHEMPTECH est désormais incubé. Cet accompagnement leur a notamment permis de se former à l’entrepreneuriat, afin d’acquérir les compétences nécessaires à la création de leur entreprise.

Leur victoire du prix PEPITE lors du Student Innovation Day de la Young Entrepreneurship Society va les soutenir d’un point de vue financier mais va également leur apporter de la visibilité, de la crédibilité et un accompagnement dans leur création d’entreprise.

Leurs conseils ? Avoir la conviction de porter un projet qui a du sens et s’entourer des bonnes personnes pour assurer sa viabilité.

Les prochaines étapes pour STHEMPTECH vont être d’optimiser le procédé afin de le valider à une échelle pilote et démarrer une campagne de levée de fonds.