Skip to main content

Data, the new market value

Clearly linked to the issue of digital sovereignty , the use of data by companies and public bodies is a matter of concern for Internet users. Already in 2014, a study conducted by the CSA1 showed that 81% of French people were concerned about the protection of their personal data. Today, users want to regain control over their personal data and regain their sovereignty.

datacenter

What is data ?

The new oil: this is the nickname for data, a real issue of digital sovereignty and a new market value on the Internet. The volume of data produced worldwide is constantly increasing. In 2018, we were at 33 zettabytes (1 zettabyte = 1021 bytes) and we should reach 175 zettabytes in 2025 : an increase of more than 430%, according to the projection of the International Data Corporation.

From an economic point of view, data is essential for business innovation. It allows us to understand and predict consumer needs and behaviours in real time, which offers great opportunities for companies. The advent of Big Data has led companies to integrate data processing into their strategies in order to compete with American companies.

Data security challenges

The digital giants have made users accustomed to offering their personal data in exchange for a service or product. When we gave up our data, we didn't really know the repercussions that this could have, including the sale of this data to companies.

Today, internet users are more enlightened about how their data is used and want to protect it. This is one of the reasons why the GDPR was adopted in Europe in 2018, so that users can retain control of their personal data. Companies are now required to declare their personal data processing to the CNIL.

However, these laws protecting data are holding back companies' activity and their ability to innovate. This precautionary principle is slowing down European companies, whereas data processing is regulated after the fact in the United States.

The challenge of data hosting

The issue of data hosting is becoming crucial as public services become more paperless. As local authorities generally do not have their own datacenter, they have to opt for a foreign cloud service, such as Amazon Web Services. However, this sensitive data is hosted outside France, subject to non-European laws.

The applicable legal rule depends on the territory where the datacenters are installed and the nationality of the hosts. If the host is French but the infrastructure is abroad, the data is subject to the laws of the territory of installation. If the data is in a European datacenter but the company is American, the Patriot Act authorises access to the data by the American authorities without the authorisation of individuals or companies. In any case, hosting in France by a French company is preferable for the security of our data.
A data hosting strategy is underway in France to defend our digital sovereignty, with the support of the Ministry of the Economy. C├ędric O, the Secretary of State for Digital Affairs, even declared in October 2020 that he planned to repatriate the Health Data Hub to a French or European provider, to the detriment of Microsoft.

Go further >>> Digital sovereignty: what is at stake?

In order to secure the data of French Internet users, it is urgent to develop sovereign solutions. In terms of secure clouds, French Tech currently has only OVHcloud. We can also mention Qwant, a search engine that guarantees the protection of its users' personal data, but which is not yet in the shadow of Google. In the years to come, new solutions should appear with the aim of preserving the sovereignty of users.

Skip to main content

La data, nouvelle valeur marchande

Clairement liée à l’enjeu de la souveraineté numérique, l’utilisation de la data par les entreprises et les instances publiques interroge les internautes. Déjà en 2014, une étude réalisée par le CSA1 démontrait que 81% des Français étaient préoccupés par la protection de leurs données personnelles. Aujourd’hui, les usagers souhaitent reprendre le contrôle sur leurs données personnelles et retrouver leur souveraineté.

datacenter

Qu’est-ce que la data ?

Le nouveau pétrole : c’est le surnom de la data (données), véritable enjeu de souveraineté numérique et nouvelle valeur marchande sur Internet. Le volume de données produites au niveau mondial augmente sans cesse. En 2018, nous étions à 33 zettaoctets (1 zettaoctet = 1021 octets) et nous devrions passer à 175 zettaoctets en 2025 : une augmentation de plus de 430%, d’après la projection de l’International Data Corporation.

D’un point de vue économique, la data est indispensable pour l’innovation des entreprises. Elle permet de comprendre et de probabiliser les besoins et comportements des consommateurs en temps réel, ce qui offre de belles perspectives aux entreprises. L’avènement du Big Data a conduit les entreprises à intégrer le traitement des données dans leurs stratégies, dans le but de concurrencer les sociétés américaines.

Les défis liés à la sécurité des données

Les géants du numérique ont habitué les utilisateurs à offrir leurs données personnelles, moyennant un service ou un produit. En cédant nos données, nous ne connaissions pas réellement les répercussions que cela pouvait avoir, notamment la vente de ces données à des entreprises.

Aujourd’hui, les internautes sont plus éclairés sur l’usage de leurs données et souhaitent les protéger. C’est notamment pour cette raison que le RGPD a été adopté en Europe en 2018, afin que les utilisateurs puissent conserver la maîtrise de leurs données personnelles. Les entreprises sont désormais tenues de déclarer à la CNIL leurs traitements de données personnelles.

Ces législations qui protègent les données freinent néanmoins l’activité des entreprises et leur capacité d’innovation. Ce principe de précaution ralentit les entreprises européennes, alors que la régulation du traitement de la data se fait a posteriori aux États-Unis.

L’enjeu de l’hébergement des données

Le sujet de l’hébergement des données devient crucial du fait de la dématérialisation des services publics. Les collectivités ne disposant généralement pas de leur propre datacenter, elles doivent opter pour un service cloud étranger, tel qu’Amazon Web Services. Or, ces données sensibles sont hébergées hors de France, soumises à des lois non européennes.

La règle juridique applicable dépend du territoire où sont installés des datacenters et de la nationalité des hébergeurs. Si l’hébergeur est français mais que les infrastructures sont à l’étranger, les données sont soumises aux lois du territoire d’installation. Si les données sont dans un datacenter européen mais que l’entreprise américaine, le Patriot Act autorise l’accès aux données par les autorités américaines sans l’autorisation des particuliers ou des entreprises. Dans tous les cas, un hébergement en France par un acteur français est préférable pour la sécurité de nos données.

Une stratégie d’hébergement des données est en chemin en France pour défendre notre souveraineté numérique, avec l’appui du Ministère de l’Économie. Cédric O, le secrétaire d’État chargé du numérique, a même déclaré en octobre 2020 prévoir le rapatriement du Health Data Hub vers un prestataire français ou européen, au détriment de Microsoft.

Aller plus loin >>> Souveraineté numérique : quels enjeux ?

Afin de sécuriser les données des internautes français, il est urgent de développer des solutions souveraines. En matière de cloud sécurisé, la French Tech ne compte aujourd’hui qu’OVHcloud. Nous pouvons également citer Qwant, un moteur de recherche garant de la protection des données personnelles de ses utilisateurs, mais qui ne fait pas encore d’ombre à Google. Dans les années à venir, de nouvelles solutions devraient faire leur apparition dans le but de préserver la souveraineté des usagers.

1http://docplayer.fr/2126354-Les-francais-la-protection-des-donnees-personnelles-etude-de-l-institut-csa-%20pour-orange-fevrier-2014.html