Skip to main content

Veesion: Artificial Intelligence at the service of businesses

A year ago, Veesion and its team won a prize at the 22nd i-Lab innovation competition: a competition that aims to detect innovative technology start-up projects and support the best of them with financial aid and appropriate coaching. In the meantime, they have expanded internationally and even want to develop a new technology for detecting shopping carts of convenience, i.e. a shopping cart in which not all the items have been counted at the checkout.


A real problem to address

The project was born out of a simple observation: each year, shoplifting represents 5.8 billions euros, even though companies invest 7.4 billions euros in their security. Despite this, less than 5% of thefts are detected.

BenoƮt Koenig, Damien Menigaux and Thibault David, all three alumni or students of the Ecole polytechnique at the time, then had the idea to create an artificial intelligence algorithm that would detect suspicious behaviour. In April 2018, they launched Veesion: a technology for recognising gestures in video content to detect, automatically and in real time, acts of theft in a point of sale.

Their solution adapts to the equipment already present in the point of sale and connects to the cameras.The gesture recognition algorithm developed by Veesion continuously analyses the video stream and is able to detect in real time gestures associated with theft. A notification is then sent to staff, who can take action to apprehend the suspect. The technology can also be used to analyse theft histories and provide personalised recommendations, such as risk areas and time slots, or security breaches.

image

A proven track record

Created barely three years ago, Veesion has created 18 jobs and is still recruiting. Incubated at Agoranov, it has been listed among the 100 startups to invest in in 2019.

The next steps? An even greater international development; the Australian and English markets having already been conquered recently. They also want to develop a new system for detecting shopping carts of convenience. Veesion is also expanding its target market, as the technology is now present in supermarkets but also in pharmacies.

Skip to main content

Veesion : l’Intelligence Artificielle au service des commerces

Il y a un an, Veesion et toute son équipe était primée au 22ème concours d’innovation i-Lab  : un concours qui a pour objectif de détecter des projets de création d’entreprises de technologies innovantes et de soutenir les meilleurs d’entre eux grâce à une aide financière et à un accompagnement adapté.  Entre temps, ils se sont développés à l’international et souhaitent même développer une nouvelle technologie de détection des caddies de complaisance, c’est-à-dire un caddie pour lequel tous les articles n'ont pas été comptabilisés lors du passage en caisse.


Un réel problème à adresser

Le projet est né d’un constat simple : chaque année, le vol à l’étalage représente 5,8 milliards d’euros, alors même que les entreprises investissent 7,4 milliards d’euros pour leur sécurité. Malgré ça, moins de 5% des vols sont détectés.

Benoît Koenig, Damien Menigaux et Thibault David, tous trois alumni ou étudiants de l’Ecole polytechnique à ce moment-là, ont alors eu l’idée de créer un algorithme d’intelligence artificielle qui permettra de détecter les comportements suspects. En avril 2018, ils lancent alors Veesion : une technologie de reconnaissance des gestes dans du contenu vidéo qui peut détecter, automatiquement et en temps réel, des actes de vol dans un point de vente.

Leur solution s’adapte au matériel déjà présent dans le point de vente et se connecte aux caméras. L’algorithme de reconnaissance des gestes développé par Veesion analyse les flux vidéo en continu et est capable de détecter en temps réel les gestes associés au vol. Ensuite, une notification est envoyée au personnel, qui peut agir pour interpeller le suspect. La technologie permet également, à postériori, d’analyser les historiques de vol et de fournir des recommandations personnalisées comme les zones et plages horaires à risque ou encore les failles de sécurité.

VEESION

Des preuves qui ne sont plus à faire

Créé depuis à peine 3 ans, Veesion a permis de créer 18 emplois, et recrute encore. Incubée chez Agoranov, elle a fait partie des 100 startups où investir en 2019.

Les prochaines étapes ? Un développement encore plus important à l’international ; les marchés australiens et anglais ayant déjà été conquis récemment. Ils souhaitent également développer un nouveau système pour la détection de caddies de complaisance. Veesion agrandit également sa cible, puisque la technologie est présente dans des supermarchés mais également dans des pharmacies.