Skip to main content

Digital sovereignty: what is at stake?

The power of the digital giants is clearly competing with that of States and impacting on the freedom of users. The 2000s saw the first questions raised on this subject and the emergence of the notion of digital sovereignty. What is at stake in this digital sovereignty and how can we regain power over our data?


Digital sovereignty: definition

Digital sovereignty seems to be an oxymoron. On the one hand, sovereignty is defined as the exercise of power over a geographical area and the population that occupies it. On the other hand, can this authority be exercised in digital space, in a virtual area? Cyberspace is a new place of power, in a virtual universe without geographical anchorage.

The concept of digital sovereignty was born in the 2000s and has seen many attempts at definition. Pierre Bellanger, chairman of Skyrock, gave an interesting definition in 2011: 'Digital sovereignty is the control of our present and our destiny as they are manifested and directed by the use of computer technologies and networks'.

In 2019, the report of the Senate's committee of enquiry on digital sovereignty defines it as the State's ability to act in cyberspace, a necessary condition for the preservation of French and European values. This implies an autonomous capacity to assess, decide and act in cyberspace, as well as control over networks, electronic communications and data in France.

Digital sovereignty is an objective sought by public authorities, companies and citizens alike. The power of the GAFAMs (Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon and Microsoft), the NATUs (Netflix, AirBnb, Tesla and Uber) and the BATXs (Baidu, AliBaba, Tencent and Xiaomi) in China is challenging the authority of States over their territories, thanks to the economic dependence created by a quasi-monopoly and the possession of the data of billions of users around the world.

To protect our personal data and our freedom, digital sovereignty is a key issue, an inherent challenge of the 21st century.

 

Digital sovereignty for States

Digital sovereignty is essential for States, which are facing competition from digital giants. Globally, States are claiming their power to regulate the Internet, particularly in the face of the United States and its authorities.

In Europe, states have chosen a liberal approach, granting the state the right to protect the freedoms of its citizens from entities that are ill-defined or guided by commercial interests. Other States, such as Russia or China, have a more authoritarian conception of digital sovereignty, involving the control of virtual spaces to promote their interests.

In all cases, public powers are in a power struggle with the digital giants that rule cyberspace. Their aim is to preserve a share of their power despite omnipresent technologies: algorithms, connected objects, robotics, artificial intelligence, etc., which are governed more by computer code than by the legal norms of States.

 

Digital sovereignty for users

Digital sovereignty also applies to users. For them, the aim is to protect their personal data, to make choices and to turn away from certain applications/companies according to their preferences, just as they would do in a supermarket.

This "popular" sovereignty can be exercised individually or collectively, within communities of users. Increasingly important for Internet users, it also translates into guarantees such as the right to be forgotten, to dereferencing or to personal data protection thanks to the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation).

 

GAFAM

 

The sovereignty of the digital giants

Nevertheless, it is legitimate to think that digital sovereignty belongs to the digital giants, in particular to the GAFAMs, which hold the power over the web thanks to their products and services. Moreover, when we talk about digital sovereignty, we often refer to them because they dispossess States of their authority and put them in difficulty.

Thanks to their economic quasi-monopoly, these multinationals control and regulate cyberspace. The digital giants set the conditions of use of services, create algorithms, delete content or user profiles, sell personal data, create their virtual currencies (Libra for Facebook), etc.

 

Challenges related to digital sovereignty

The loss of digital sovereignty is at the heart of the concerns of public authorities and users. States are losing their authority to the private multinationals that rule in cyberspace. Ironically, these same states are forced to work with American companies because of the lack of sufficient technology in their countries.

 

Economic and technological dependence

In order to establish digital sovereignty, it is necessary to develop its own digital tools so as not to depend on the solutions of the digital giants. The problem is that French technology players do not have the same technological power as American multinationals, despite a few unicorns such as OVHcloud or Doctolib.

France's economic and technological dependence on the United States is demonstrated by several examples:

  • the use of the company Palantir, partly financed by the CIA, to help the DGSI in the fight against terrorism in 2016 and again in 2019, as no French company has managed to offer an equivalent technology1.
  • the hosting of French health data by Microsoft as part of the Health Data Hub, because French solutions did not allow the use of the best artificial intelligence algorithms, due to European delays.
  • the hosting of certificates of state-guaranteed loans (PGE) by BPIFrance on the Amazon Web Services cloud, awarded without a call for tenders.

Entrusting this type of sensitive data to foreign companies, which could exploit it, is a significant risk to the protection of national interests.

Of course, developments of French tools have been launched in recent years to try to compete with American solutions. The French government funded two sovereign cloud projects in 2009 (Cloudwatt and Numergy), which unfortunately failed. A French search engine, Qwant, was launched in 2013 as an alternative to Google for users wishing to protect their personal data. It has met with some success but is still far from competing with the American search engine.

 

Tax policy

In terms of tax policy, States are no more sovereign in the face of the power of GAFAM. Indeed, the digital giants practice tax optimisation. Brussels estimates that their average tax rate on profits does not exceed 9.5%, unlike traditional companies, which are taxed at 23.2%. Hundreds of millions of euros are therefore lost to the tax authorities every year.

This is why the European Union launched in 2018 a project for a tax on digital services, for better justice and tax harmonisation between countries. Unfortunately, the idea of taxing 3% on the turnover generated by certain digital activities is slow to come into force due to lack of support from member States and fear of US retaliation.

While waiting for the European Union, France voted its own GAFA tax in July 2019, which is expected to raise €650 million in 2020. The passage of this law led to US customs measures against France. A down payment was made in 2019, but this GAFA tax is still struggling to be implemented.

 

Protection of rights

Questions about digital sovereignty require attention to the protection of individuals' rights in the digital space. This concerns both the right to be forgotten and the right to data protection.

Some of these rights have already been implemented at European level, for example with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). This European regulation came into force in 2018 to protect users' data on the web and ensure its control. The Council of State also adopted decrees in 2019 concerning the right to be forgotten and the right to dereferencing on search engines.

>> Go further: Data, the new market value?

 

data

 

Governance of the digital space

Overall, the governance of the digital space is not sufficiently democratic, multilateral and transparent. The United States holds a technological and economic quasi-monopoly. Opaque multinationals rule the web. This lack of shared responsibility has led to a break with powerful states such as China, which have chosen to regain control over cyberspace by creating their own.

One example is ICANN, which allocates domain names and IP addresses around the world. Founded in 1998, ICANN was controlled by the US Department of Commerce until 2016. ICANN vice-president Christopher Mondini said the new governance would have no impact on the way the web works but should protect it from State influence: good news for the governance of cyberspace as it begins to open up.

 

The creation of the Institute for Digital Sovereignty

In order to fight against the loss of digital sovereignty, France created the Institute for Digital Sovereignty in 2017. Its objective is to federate the actors concerned by digital changes and to raise awareness of the challenges of digital sovereignty among citizens, public actors and industry. In line with the European values of freedom and transparency, the Institute for Digital Sovereignty promotes these issues in France and in Europe.

It is also this institute that organises the Digital Sovereignty Conference, which will take place this year on Wednesday 19 May 2021.

To date, neither France nor Europe is sovereign in the digital space. However, awareness of the challenges linked to digital sovereignty is leading to actions by public and economic powers to better share responsibilities on the web, while protecting the interests of users.

________________________________________

1https://www.sciencespo.fr/public/chaire-numerique/2020/07/09/quest-ce-que-la-souverainete-numerique/

Skip to main content

Souveraineté numérique : quels enjeux ?

Le pouvoir des géants du numérique concurrence nettement celui des États et impacte la liberté des utilisateurs. Les années 2000 ont vu naître les premières interrogations à ce sujet et fait émerger la notion de souveraineté numérique. Quels sont les enjeux de cette souveraineté numérique et comment reprendre le pouvoir sur nos données ?


La souveraineté numérique : définition

La souveraineté numérique semble être un oxymore. D’un côté, la souveraineté est définie comme l’exercice du pouvoir sur une zone géographique et sur la population qui l’occupe. De l’autre, cette autorité peut-elle s’exercer dans l’espace numérique, dans une zone virtuelle ? Le cyberespace est un nouveau lieu de pouvoir, dans un univers virtuel sans ancrage géographique.

Le concept de souveraineté numérique est né dans les années 2000 et a connu de nombreuses tentatives de définitions. Pierre Bellanger, président de Skyrock, en donne une définition intéressante en 2011 : “La souveraineté numérique est la maîtrise de notre présent et de notre destin tels qu’ils se manifestent et s’orientent par l’usage des technologies et des réseaux informatiques”.

En 2019, le rapport de la commission d’enquête du Sénat sur la souveraineté numérique la définit comme la capacité de l’État à agir dans le cyberespace, condition nécessaire à la préservation des valeurs françaises et européennes. Cela implique une capacité autonome d’appréciation, de décision et d’action dans le cyberespace, ainsi que la maîtrise des réseaux, des communications électroniques et des données en France.

La souveraineté numérique est un objectif recherché aussi bien par la puissance publique que par les entreprises et par les citoyens. La puissance des GAFAM (Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon et Microsoft), des NATU (Netflix, AirBnb, Tesla et Uber) ou encore des BATX (Baidu, AliBaba, Tencent et Xiaomi) en Chine remet en cause l’autorité des États sur leurs territoires, grâce à une dépendance économique créée par un quasi-monopole et à la détention de données de milliards d’utilisateurs à travers le monde.

Pour protéger nos données personnelles et notre liberté, la souveraineté numérique est un sujet primordial, un enjeu inhérent au XXIe siècle.

 

La souveraineté numérique pour les États

La souveraineté numérique est essentielle pour les États, concurrencés par les géants du numérique. Globalement, les États revendiquent leur pouvoir de réglementation sur Internet, notamment face aux États-Unis et leurs instances.

En Europe, les États ont choisi une approche libérale, octroyant le droit à l’État de protéger les libertés de ses citoyens face à des entités mal définies ou guidées par des intérêts commerciaux. D’autres États comme la Russie ou la Chine ont une conception plus autoritaire de la souveraineté numérique, impliquant le contrôle des espaces virtuels pour y promouvoir leurs intérêts.

Dans tous les cas, les puissances publiques sont dans un rapport de force avec les géants du numérique qui règnent sur le cyberespace. Leur but est de préserver une part de leur pouvoir malgré des technologies omniprésentes : algorithmes, objets connectés, robotique, intelligence artificielle…davantage régies par le code informatique que par les normes juridiques des États.

 

La souveraineté numérique pour les utilisateurs

La souveraineté numérique vaut aussi pour les utilisateurs. Pour eux, l’objectif est de protéger leurs données personnelles, d’effectuer des choix et de se détourner de certaines applications/entreprises selon leurs préférences, comme ils le feraient dans un supermarché.

Cette souveraineté “populaire” peut être exercée à titre individuel ou collectif, au sein de communautés d’utilisateurs. De plus en plus importante pour les internautes, elle se traduit également par des garanties telles que le droit à l’oubli, au déréférencement ou à la protection des données personnelles grâce au RGPD (règlement général sur la protection des données).

 

La souveraineté des géants du numérique

 

GAFAM

 

Néanmoins, on peut légitimement penser que la souveraineté digitale appartient aux géants du numérique, en particulier les GAFAM qui détiennent le pouvoir sur le web grâce à leurs produits et services. D’ailleurs, quand on parle de souveraineté numérique, on fait bien souvent référence à eux car ils dépossèdent les États de leur autorité et les mettent en difficulté.

Grâce à leur quasi-monopole économique, ces multinationales commandent et réglementent le cyberespace. Les géants du numérique fixent les conditions d’utilisation des services, créent des algorithmes, suppriment des contenus ou des profils d’utilisateurs, vendent des données personnelles, créent leurs monnaies virtuelles (Libra pour Facebook), etc.

 

Les défis liés à la souveraineté numérique

La perte de souveraineté numérique est au cœur des préoccupations des puissances publiques et des utilisateurs. Les États perdent de leur autorité face aux multinationales privées qui règnent dans le cyberespace. Comble de l’ironie, ces mêmes États se trouvent obligés de travailler avec des entreprises américaines, faute de technologies suffisantes dans leurs pays.

 

Dépendance économique et technologique

Pour asseoir sa souveraineté numérique, il est nécessaire de développer ses propres outils digitaux afin de ne pas dépendre des solutions des géants du numérique. Le problème, c’est que les acteurs technologiques français n’ont pas une puissance technologique équivalente aux multinationales américaines, malgré quelques licornes comme OVHcloud ou Doctolib.

La dépendance économique et technologique de la France aux États-Unis est prouvée par plusieurs exemples :

  • le recours à la société Palantir, financée en partie par la CIA, pour aider la DGSI dans la lutte anti-terroriste en 2016 puis en 2019, car aucune entreprise française n’a réussi à proposer une technologie équivalente1.
  • l’hébergement des données de santé des français par Microsoft dans le cadre du Health Data Hub, parce que les solutions françaises ne permettaient pas d’utiliser les meilleurs algorithmes d’intelligence artificielle, du fait des retards européens.
  • l’hébergement des attestations de prêts garantis par l’État (PGE) par BPIFrance sur le cloud d’Amazon Web Services, attribué sans appel d’offres.

Le fait de confier ce type de données sensibles à des entreprises étrangères, qui pourraient les exploiter, est un risque conséquent pour la protection des intérêts nationaux.

Bien sûr, des développements d’outils français ont été lancés ces dernières années pour tenter de rivaliser avec les solutions américaines. Le gouvernement français a financé en 2009 deux projets de cloud souverain (Cloudwatt et Numergy), qui ont malheureusement échoué. Un moteur de recherche français, Qwant, a été lancé en 2013 comme une alternative à Google pour les utilisateurs souhaitant protéger leurs données personnelles. Il rencontre un certain succès mais est encore loin de rivaliser avec le moteur de recherche américain.

 

Politique fiscale

En matière de politique fiscale, les États ne sont pas plus souverains face à la puissance des GAFAM. En effet, les géants du numérique pratiquent l’optimisation fiscale. Bruxelles estime que leur taux d’imposition moyen sur les bénéfices ne dépasse pas 9,5%, contrairement aux entreprises classiques qui sont imposées à hauteur de 23,2%. Ce sont donc des centaines de millions d’euros qui échappent à l’administration fiscale chaque année.

C’est pourquoi l’Union Européenne a lancé en 2018 un projet de taxe sur les services numériques, pour une meilleure justice et une harmonisation fiscale entre les pays. Malheureusement, l’idée de taxer 3% sur le chiffre d’affaires généré par certaines activités numériques tarde à entrer en vigueur par manque de soutien des États membres et par crainte de représailles américaines.

En attendant l’Union Européenne, la France a voté sa propre taxe GAFA en juillet 2019, censée rapporter 650 millions d’euros en 2020. L’adoption de cette loi a entraîné des mesures douanières américaines à l’encontre de la France. Un acompte a été versé en 2019, mais cette taxe GAFA a encore du mal à être appliquée.

 

Protection des droits

Les questionnements sur la souveraineté numérique imposent de s’intéresser à la protection des droits des individus dans l’espace numérique. Cela concerne autant le droit à l’oubli que le droit à la protection des données.

Certains de ces droits ont déjà été appliqués au niveau européen, par exemple avec le Règlement général sur la protection des données personnelles (RGPD). Ce règlement européen est entré en vigueur en 2018 afin de protéger les données des utilisateurs sur le web et de garantir leur contrôle. Le Conseil d’État a également adopté des arrêtés en 2019 concernant le droit à l’oubli et le droit au déréférencement sur les moteurs de recherche.

>> Aller plus loin : La data, nouvelle valeur marchande ?

data

 

Gouvernance de l’espace numérique

De façon globale, la gouvernance de l’espace numérique n’est pas suffisamment démocratique, multilatérale et transparente. Les États-Unis détiennent un quasi-monopole technologique et économique. Des multinationales opaques règnent sur le web. Cette absence de partage des responsabilités a entraîné une rupture avec de puissants États comme la Chine, qui ont choisi de reprendre le contrôle sur le cyberespace en créant le leur.

Nous pouvons par exemple parler de l’ICANN, qui attribue les noms de domaines et les adresses IP dans le monde entier. Fondé en 1998, l’ICANN était contrôlé par le ministère américain du Commerce jusqu’en 2016. Le vice-président de l’ICANN, Christopher Mondini, a affirmé que cette nouvelle gouvernance n’aurait aucune conséquence sur le fonctionnement du web mais devrait le prémunir d’influences étatiques : une bonne nouvelle pour la gouvernance du cyberespace qui commence à s’ouvrir.

 

La création de l’Institut de la souveraineté numérique

Dans le but de lutter contre la perte de souveraineté numérique, la France a créé l’Institut de la souveraineté numérique en 2017. Son objectif est de fédérer les acteurs concernés par les mutations numériques et de faire connaître les enjeux de la souveraineté numérique auprès des citoyens, des acteurs publics et industriels. En accord avec les valeurs européennes de liberté et de transparence, l’Institut de la souveraineté numérique promeut ces enjeux en France et en Europe.

C’est également cet institut qui organise les Assises de la Souveraineté numérique, qui auront lieu cette année le mercredi 19 mai 2021.

A ce jour, ni la France ni l’Europe ne sont souveraines dans l’espace numérique. Toutefois, la prise de conscience des défis liés à la souveraineté numérique entraîne des actions de la part des puissances publiques et économiques afin de mieux partager les responsabilités sur le web, tout en protégeant les intérêts des utilisateurs.


1https://www.sciencespo.fr/public/chaire-numerique/2020/07/09/quest-ce-que-la-souverainete-numerique/