Skip to main content

Medadom: the digital intermediary between patients and doctors

Medadom, a Medtech company recently listed among the new FrenchTech 120 entrants, offers a medical platform that is attracting more and more French patients and doctors in a context where distance is a must. Meet Nathaniel BERN, co-founder of the start-up, who tells us about his adventure, the boost provided by the health crisis and the company's future objectives.


MEDADOM, in a few words ?

Medadom is a major actor of the tele-medicine in France. Today, we offer access to care, particularly to doctors in video consultation to patients throughout the country. So, both patients who are at home through the mobile application or the Medadom website and in pharmacies, town halls, companies through terminals and connected booths for remote consultation.

medadom

How did the founding team of this project meet ?

I already knew Eliedan, the co-founder, and my other two partners. We had been friends for a long time. The third partner in the company is none other than Eliedan's father.

What is special about your company that sets you apart from the competition ?

For the moment, we are the only ones who know how to offer an "integrated" medical service, meaning that we have the technology (the software), the terminals and the tele-medicine booths... The entire process, which includes assembly, delivery and configuration, is carried out by us. The objective is to ensure medical permanence, i.e. the availability of doctors on the platform 7 days a week, allowing patients to access a health professional in less than 10 minutes. In the market, this is what makes our big difference. If you go to a doctor's online calendar, you won't find an appointment right away. We are a no appointment service.

What technologies are used in your company ?

We have an internal tech team in charge of several programming languages. Oriented languages, some do Java script, rather server oriented. Some of them use infrastructure languages. We have at our disposal languages that are adapted to the projects we work on.

What are your next challenges/ projects in the future ?

The ecosystem around which we gravitate, telemedicine, is very broad. The goal is to become a market leader. Today, we do teleconsultations with general practitioners. Tomorrow, we will have terminals and booths set up all over France, perhaps at the Polytechnique !

We already have one at HEC Paris. Our long-term objectives are to develop the project with as many doctors as possible, in other words, more innovative projects around tele-medicine, in the broadest sense.

Are you present in the retirement homes ?

We have a partnership with the Domitys senior residences, which are non-medicalized, allowing elderly people who do not have access to care to have access to a doctor.

In view of your market, has the health situation over the past year been a factor in the development of your business ?

Clearly. It's not a happy thing to say, but there are some sectors and markets that benefit more than others. Medadom has seen a business boost as the government has promoted the use of remote practices and telemedicine for patients. Pharmacists have been in high demand during the health crisis as local care relays. We who work with patients who do teleconsultation at home and health professionals, doctors and pharmacists are adapting their practices more since the pandemic and therefore to remote work.

What advice could you give to those who might be hesitant to embark on entrepreneurship ?

I don't think you should be afraid to get started. It's important to work with people who know a little bit about the sector, if only to be reassured and to have a first foot in the field. But I don't think you should be afraid to innovate, especially in healthcare, there are many things to do. The regulations are evolving with the uses. It is also the start-ups that create new uses, so you just have to be persistent, believe in your product and work hard.

What do you expect or hope for from your recent inclusion in the French Tech 120 ranking ?

The FrenchTech 120 ranking is important because it gives us a privileged contact with the government. We are subject to health regulations, which are quite strict. It is therefore essential for us to have close contact points with the government.

Skip to main content

Medadom : l'intermédiaire digital entre les patients et les médecins

Medadom, entreprise de Medtech, récemment listée parmi les nouveaux entrants FrenchTech 120, propose une plateforme médicale qui séduit de plus en plus de patients français et de médecins dans un contexte ou la distance s’impose. Rencontre avec Nathaniel BERN, co-fondateur de la start-up qui nous parle de son aventure, le boost apporté par la crise sanitaire sans oublier les objectifs de l’entreprise à l’avenir.

MEDADOM, en quelques mots ?

Medadom est un acteur majeur de la télé médecine en France. Aujourd’hui, on propose un accès aux soins, plus particulièrement à des médecins en vidéo consultation pour des patients sur tout le territoire. Donc, à la fois des patients qui sont chez eux par l’intermédiaire de l’application mobile ou du site web Medadom et en pharmacie, en mairie, en entreprise par l’intermédiaire de bornes et de cabines connectées de télé consultation.

medadom

Comment l’équipe fondatrice de ce projet s’est-elle rencontrée ?

Je connaissais déjà Eliedan, le co-fondateur, ainsi que mes deux autres associés. On était amis de longue date. Le troisième associé de l’entreprise n’est autre que le père d’Eliedan.

Quelles sont les particularités de votre entreprise qui vous démarque de la concurrence ?

Pour le moment, nous sommes les seuls à savoir proposer un service médical « intégré », c’est-à-dire que l’on a, à la fois la technologie (le logiciel), des bornes et des cabines de télé médecine… L’ensemble du processus qui regroupe l’assemblage, la livraison, les configurations, est réalisé par nous. L’objectif est de nous assurer de la permanence médicale à savoir la disponibilité 7j/7 des médecins sur la plateforme qui permette aux patients d’accéder à un professionnel de santé en moins de 10 minutes. Sur le marché, c’est ce qui fait notre grande différence. Si vous allez sur l’agenda en ligne de médecin, vous n’allez pas trouver un rendez-vous de suite. Nous, c’est du sans rendez-vous programmé.

Quelles sont les technologies utilisées au sein de votre entreprise ?

Nous avons une équipe tech en interne en charge de plusieurs langages de programmation. Des langages orientés, certains font du Java script, plutôt orienté serveur. Plusieurs vont plus utiliser du langage d’infrastructure. Nous avons à notre disposition des langages qui sont adaptés aux projets sur lesquels on travaille.

Quels sont vos prochains défis/ projets à l’avenir ?

L’écosystème autour duquel nous gravitons, la télémédecine, est très large. Le but est de s’imposer comme un leader du marché. A ce jour, on fait de la téléconsultation avec des médecins généralistes. Demain, on aura des bornes et des cabines implantées partout en France, peut-être à Polytechnique !

 On en a déjà une à HEC Paris. Nos objectifs à termes sont de développer le projet avec le plus de médecins, autrement dit, plus de projets innovants autour de la télé médecine, au sens large.

Êtes-vous présent dans les EHPADs ?

Nous avons un partenariat avec les résidences senior Domitys, elles sont non médicalisées ce qui permet à des personnes âgées qui n’ont pas accès aux soins d’avoir accès à un médecin.

Au vu de votre marché, la situation sanitaire depuis un an a-t-elle été un facteur de développement de votre activité ?

Clairement. Ce n’est pas très joyeux à dire mais il y a des secteurs et des marchés qui en bénéficient plus que d’autres. Medadom a connu un boost d’activité puisque le gouvernement a favorisé l’usage des pratiques distancielles et de la télémédecine pour les patients. Les pharmaciens ont été très sollicités pendant la crise sanitaire en tant que relais de soins locaux. Nous qui travaillons avec les patients qui font de la téléconsultation chez eux et les professionnels de santé, les médecins et les pharmaciens adaptent davantage leurs exercices depuis la pandémie et donc au travail à distance.

Quels conseils pourriez-vous donner à ceux qui hésiteraient à se lancer dans l’entrepreneuriat ?

Je pense qu’il ne faut pas avoir peur de se lancer. C’est important de se mettre avec des gens qui connaissent un petit peu le secteur, ne serait-ce que pour être rassuré et pour avoir un premier pied dans le milieu. Mais, je pense qu’il ne faut pas avoir peur d’innover, surtout dans la santé, il y a beaucoup de choses à faire. Les règlementations évoluent aux usages. C’est aussi les start-up qui créent de nouveaux usages, donc il suffit simplement d’être persévérant, croire en son produit et travailler dur.

Qu’attendez-vous ou qu’espérez-vous de votre récente présence parmi le classement French Tech 120 ?

Le classement FrenchTech 120 est important car il nous permet un contact privilégié avec le gouvernement. On est soumis à la règlementation de la santé, qui est assez stricte. Il nous semble donc essentiel d’avoir des points de contacts rapprochés dans les administrations.