Skip to main content

X-Up, technology in a 360° thematic support program

The X-UP incubation programme acts as a springboard for the development of innovative start-ups by making them productive and independent. This is why, Constellation has been participating in the programme with a complete legal program that covers essential topics for the project owners : status, intellectual protection, industrial protection… as well as specific legal support to each project.

Complete legal support for X-UP

While the Constellation law firm occasionally provided legal expertise to previous X-Up promotions, this year, their support is regular and comprehensive for incubated start-ups. Spearheaded by Roberta Camera, the new X-UP program manager, the twelfth promotion benefits from a complete, need-based legal and personalized support throughout the incubation. A personalized legal support is a good means to increase the rate of success of start-ups with 9 out of 10 failing.  

"It is for the first time that X-Up has decided to choose a cabinet of lawyers who provide support in legal aspects with structured guidance coherent to the rest of the programme", explains Hortense Moisand, associate at Constellation. "We were selected because we propose different types of expertise and our firm is focussed on innovation like the center for entrepreneurship at X. Our value addition is our range of digital tools and legal diagnostics for optimising the relation between client and lawyer."


Constellation’s contribution to entrepreneurs

The incubated entrepreneurs have a lot of knowledge and skills related to their domains but only few have a developed legal culture. This is where Constellation steps in by providing legal expertise adapted to the actual needs of the project owners. The goal is not to create lawyers but to initiate inquisitiveness and create dialogue between the project owners and advocates.

"It is important to have a pedagogy. The idea is to make the entrepreneurs understand that law is a tool for structuring and strategic thinking : it is an ally, not a constraint! ", adds Hortense Moisand

Phases of X-UP legal support

Roberta Camera and Constellation have elaborated four phases of individual and collective support during the six months of incubation of entrepreneurs. Due to the current health crisis, the different phases are conducted on line.

Legal check-up

The first phase begins with the legal evaluation of the project in order to assess if any legal obstacles exist in its DNA. Constellation lawyers examine the different projects and construct the programme accordingly. Thereafter, a pair of advocates conduct an hour-long individual meeting with each start-up to get additional information and a 360° vision of their project. In the long run, Constellation aims to conduct online diagnosis specifically for X-UP entrepreneurs.

Workshop and specific focus

The second phase of the support starts with a workshop of three hours with all the incubated startups of the promotion. This workshop is an opportunity to discover all the speakers of Constellation, know their expertise and understand the usefulness of legal advise and applied methodology, qualities to be sought in an advocate etc.

The programme is then divided into 8 specific topics till the end of incubation in March. These topics were chosen in line with the incubated projects and innovation. The themes are :

  • Agreement of confidentiality and business secrecy
  • Constitution of the structure
  • Legal protection of the innovation
  • Arrangement and opening up of capital
  • Promotion of innovation
  • Contractual security
  • Taxation of innovation
  • Human capital


Legal coaching

X-UP organises « Constellation Hours » , a personalised legal coaching dedicated to project owners as per the needs identified by Roberta Camera. For example, if a start-up is negotiating with a potential partner, the entrepreneur(s) would receive legal advise relating to the agreement of confidentiality ; negociation and contractual arrangement with the partners. This coaching is done individually according to the wish of the project owners.

Final legal evaluation

At the end of the programme, a legal evaluation of the project is done to assess the effectiveness of the support provided.

Principal legal needs of the start-ups

A number of legal needs were identified during the X-UP promotions but some are essential for innovative startups.

The first need relates to legal access. The legal background of the startups being heterogenous, it is important to overcome barriers of apprehension and limited means during initial phase. Law can be a formidable tool for development and structuring, a true ally for start-ups. "The digital diagnostics by legal themes that we propose are very useful for entrepreneurs because it helps them to know where they stand and what are their actual needs. Hence, they know what they should ask to their lawyer.", explains Hortense Moisand

Apart from this, the project owners have important needs relating to intellectual and industrial properties. These are immaterial aspects that that bring value to the enterprise : it is important to know how to identify, protect and promote them.

The third principal need concerns the structure and status of the enterprise : it is the legal vehicle of the project. It is equally important to define individual roles and governance in a startup.

Lastly, the knowledge of contracts, contractual arrangements and negociation are important soft skills to develop a start-up.

The goal is not to fine-tune but understand the logic and trade-off between each theme and be able to reflect. Thanks to its complete legal programme, the incubated start-ups would realise that the law is an ally and is absolutely necessary for forecasting a legal budget in their business model for securing their project. Indeed, the legal angle is primordial in innovation for promoting the enterprise correctly.

Constellation : An innovative and digital law firm

Constellation is a law firm of independant and multidisciplinary advocates engaged in the ecosystem of legal innovation serving enterpreneurs and enterprises. The advocates of Constellation have different individual skills which improve collectively for serving the project of their clients. Their goal is to provide a true external legal direction with sustainable support.

Their knowledge of digital tools and their desire to automatise legal diagnostics for optimising client-advocate relations made them create the Uperia Legal project, online diagnostics to be completed by the client to precisely analyse their needs and receive tailor-made support. This project was selected for the 2020 Paris Bar Innovation Prize.

X-Up, la technologie dans un programme d’accompagnement thématique 360°

Le programme d’incubation X-Up a pour ambition d’être un tremplin pour le développement des start-up innovantes, en les rendant performantes et indépendantes. C’est pourquoi depuis 2020, le cabinet Constellation intervient au sein de la promotion avec un programme juridique complet, qui couvre les sujets essentiels pour les porteurs de projet : statuts, protection intellectuelle, protection industrielle… ainsi qu’un accompagnement juridique spécifique à chaque projet.

Le choix d’un accompagnement juridique complet pour X-Up

Si le cabinet d’avocats Constellation apportait ponctuellement son expertise juridique aux précédentes promotions X-Up, cette année, l’accompagnement est régulier et complet pour les start-up incubées. Sous l’impulsion de Roberta Camera, la nouvelle responsable du programme d’incubation X-Up, la douzième promotion bénéficie d’un véritable programme juridique complet et personnalisé selon leurs besoins, pendant leur incubation. Un accompagnement juridique adapté est un bon moyen d’augmenter le taux de réussite des start-up, 9 sur 10 étant en échec.

C’est la première fois que X-Up décide de choisir un cabinet d’avocats qui l’accompagne sur le volet juridique, avec un accompagnement structuré en cohérence avec le reste du programme de l’incubateur, raconte Hortense Moisand, associée chez Constellation. Nous avons été choisis car nous proposons de multiples expertises et notre cabinet est tourné vers l’innovation, tout comme le centre d’entrepreneuriat de l’X. Notre valeur ajoutée, c’est notre propre gamme d’outils numériques et de diagnostics juridiques digitaux pour optimiser la relation entre client et avocat.”

L’apport de Constellation aux entrepreneurs 

Les entrepreneurs incubés ont de nombreuses connaissances et compétences liées à leur domaine d’expertise, mais peu ont une culture juridique développée. C’est là qu’intervient le cabinet Constellation, en apportant des connaissances juridiques aux porteurs de projet, adaptées à leurs besoins actuels. Le but n’est pas d’en faire des juristes, mais de les amener à se poser les bonnes questions, leur apprendre à bien s’entourer et dialoguer avec des avocats.
Il faut être très pédagogue. Le but est de faire comprendre aux entrepreneurs que le juridique est un outil de structuration et de réflexion stratégique : c’est un allié, pas une contrainte !”, ajoute Hortense Moisand.

Les phases d’accompagnement juridique X-Up

Roberta Camera et le cabinet Constellation ont élaboré 4 phases d’accompagnements collectifs et individuels, durant les 6 mois d’incubation des entrepreneurs. En raison du contexte sanitaire actuel, les différentes phases se déroulent en visioconférence. 

Legal check-up

La première phase est l’évaluation juridique du projet afin de s’assurer qu’il n’existe pas d’obstacles juridiques dans son ADN. Les avocats de Constellation lisent les supports des différents projets et bâtissent leur programme de façon spécifique, en fonction des besoins des entrepreneurs. Ensuite, un binôme d’avocats réalise 1h de rendez-vous individuel avec chaque start-up pour obtenir des informations complémentaires et avoir une vision du projet à 360°. A terme, Constellation envisage de créer un diagnostic en ligne spécifique aux entrepreneurs de X-Up. 

Workshop et focus thématiques

La deuxième phase d’accompagnement débute par un workshop de 3 heures avec tous les incubés de la promotion. Cet atelier est l’occasion de découvrir l’ensemble des intervenants du cabinet Constellation, de connaître leurs expertises, de comprendre l’utilité du conseil juridique et la méthodologie appliquée, les qualités à rechercher chez un avocat, etc. 

Le programme se découpe ensuite en 8 focus thématiques jusqu’à la fin de l’incubation, en mars. Ces focus ont été choisis pour leur lien avec les projets incubés et l’innovation. Voici les thèmes abordés : 
 

  • Accord de confidentialité et secret des affaires
  • Constitution de la structure
  • Protection juridique de l’innovation
  • Organisation et ouverture du capital
  • Valorisation de l’innovation
  • Sécurisation contractuelle
  • Fiscalité de l’innovation
  • Capital humain

Coaching juridique 

X-Up met à disposition des “temps Constellation”, un coaching juridique personnalisé dédié aux porteurs de projet en fonction des besoins juridiques identifiés par Roberta Camera. Par exemple, si une start-up est en train de négocier avec un partenaire potentiel, le ou les entrepreneurs recevront des conseils juridiques concernant l’accord de confidentialité, la négociation et le montage contractuel avec les partenaires. Ce coaching se fait de façon individuelle pour coller aux attentes des porteurs de projet. 

Évaluation juridique finale

A la fin du programme, une évaluation juridique du projet aura lieu afin de suivre et d’évaluer l’efficacité de l’accompagnement au sein du programme d’incubation X-Up.

Les besoins juridiques principaux des start-up

De nombreux besoins juridiques ont été identifiés au sein des promotions X-Up, mais certains sont essentiels pour le bon développement des start-up innovantes. 

Le premier besoin identifié est tout simplement l’accès au droit. La culture juridique des entrepreneurs étant hétérogène, il faut passer le cap de l’appréhension et la barrière des moyens souvent limités en phase de démarrage. Le juridique peut être un formidable outil de développement et de structuration, un véritable allié pour les start-up. “Les diagnostics digitaux par thématique juridique que nous proposons sont très utiles pour les entrepreneurs, car cela leur permet de savoir où ils en sont et quels sont leurs besoins véritables. Ils savent ainsi ce qu’ils doivent demander à leur avocat”, explique Hortense Moisand. 

Ensuite, les porteurs de projet incubés ont des besoins importants en propriété intellectuelle et propriété industrielle. Ce sont les actifs immatériels qui font la valeur de leur entreprise : il faut savoir les identifier, les protéger et les valoriser. 

Le troisième besoin principal concerne la structure, les statuts de l’entreprise : c’est le véhicule juridique du projet. Il est également important de définir le rôle de chacun et la gouvernance de la start-up. 

Pour finir, la connaissance des contrats, des montages contractuels et de la négociation sont des soft skills importantes à avoir pour bien développer sa start-up. 

L’objectif n’est pas de tout connaître parfaitement mais de comprendre la logique et les enjeux de chaque thématique afin d’acquérir des réflexes. Grâce à ce programme juridique complet et sur-mesure, les start-up incubées auront conscience que le juridique est un allié et qu’il est absolument nécessaire de prévoir un budget juridique dans leur business model pour sécuriser leur projet. En effet, la dimension juridique est primordiale dans l’innovation pour valoriser correctement son entreprise.

Constellation, un cabinet d’avocats innovant et digital

Constellation est un cabinet d’avocats indépendant et pluridisciplinaire, immergé dans l’écosystème de l’innovation juridique au service des entrepreneurs et des entreprises. Les avocats de Constellation ont des expertises individuelles variées, qui s’augmentent collectivement pour s’adapter aux projets de leurs clients. Leur but est de fournir une véritable direction juridique externalisée, avec un accompagnement durable. 

Leur connaissance des outils numériques et leur désir d’automatiser le diagnostic juridique pour optimiser la relation client/avocat les a amené à créer le projet Uperia Legal, des diagnostics en ligne à remplir par le client afin d’analyser précisément ses besoins et recevoir un service sur-mesure. Le projet de Constellation a été retenu pour le Prix de l’innovation 2020 du Barreau de Paris.