Skip to main content

Harfang 3D joins the prototyping space at École Polytechnique

The Harfang 3D software was implemented in the X-Fab prototyping space of the Ecole Polytechnique on 16 November 2020. This French solution is related to the development of real-time 3D Human-Machine Interface (HMI) and offers a true value to the students and entrepreneurs of the Ecole Polytechnique. François Gutherz, CTO at Harfang 3D, answered our questions about the same.


What is Harfang 3D?

"Harfang 3D, explains François Gutherz, is a French software dedicated to the creation of real-time 3D Human-Machine Interface."

A Human-Machine Interface or HMI allows the user to interact with a machine (computer, connected devices, embedded systems or robots) through a dashboard, a tablet or an autonomous screen. The programming in real-time 3D makes it possible to create connected devices, 3D simulations and even conduct virtual reality trainings with the goal of facilitating the use of a machine by ordinary users with no prior knowledge.

harfang inauguration

Harfang 3D is a multi-language (C++, Python, Lua and soon Google Go) and cross-platform solution (Windows, Linux, OSX) whose objective is to be accessible as much as possible. It consists of a dual-license which is free and proprietary and gives entire access to the source code for making changes that one wishes. Harfang 3D provides complete autonomy and independence for managing a project with collaborative support on the enterprise’s forum.

The goal of Harfang 3D is to improve the use of machines by humans with the use of latest generation tools. The use of real-time 3D allows interaction in a direct and efficient manner with the possibility of creation of objects and spaces instantly with a high level of precision and interactivity.

The solution began to be developed in 2017 with the support of Centre-Val de Loire region and BPI France. "Harfang 3D was developed due to a need at Movida Production states François Gutherz. We realised that there was a great need in the industry with respect to the existing solutions. Indeed, most of the real-time 3D solutions were linked to video games and not industrial applications. Hence, we decided to respond to this need and we had the opportunity to test the solution in industrial projects namely with clients from the automobile sector. "

As a 100% French solution, Harfang 3D offers multiple guarantees to its users.

Inter-operability : Harfang 3D is developed to be easily integrated in industrial projects, embedded systems and existing environment. On the contrary, the solutions in which the roadmap is dictated by the video game industry (Unity 3D from America or Unreal Engine which is American-Chinese) pose technical problems of integration and industrialisation.

Confidentiality and sovereignty : Harfang 3D is a software developed in France. For industrial use and particularly some sensitive economic activities  such as Defense with linkage to sovereignity and strategic autonomy, the user data is not stored in the Cloud at all and source code is accessible and auditable. Backdoor connections are impossible.

Sustainability : The mainstream 3D technologies do not respond to the question of sustainability in the enterprises. Today, Harfang 3D knows that in industrial domain or defense, the maintenance needs in operational conditions can go upto 15 years and more.

Examples of applications with Harfang 3D

With Harfang 3D, you can create prototypes of products with HMI, connected devices, 3D simulation, virtual reality trainings etc. There are endless possibilities with the real-time 3D programming.

Below are some major projects managed by Harfang 3D in the last few years :

-  a prototype of 3D autostereoscopic dashboard (3D visualisation without glasses) of cars for Valeo group, automobile equipment maker from France presented at Paris Motor Show 2018 and CES at Las Vegas in 2019

- an augmented reality embedded camera for Valeo presented at CES in Las Vegas in 2020

- an augmented reality component with Valeo designed to equip production vehicles

- a scientific study in virtual reality for SNCF concerning equipments of security present at stations with a reconstruction of a station in VR and collection of data related to the functioning of these equipments.

And you? What would you develop with Harfang 3D?

Installation of Harfang 3D at X-Fab of Ecole Polytechnique

The prototyping space X-Fab of the Ecole Polytechnique has been installed with the Harfang 3D software since 16 November 2020. The X-Fab is dedicated to entrepreneurs, students, engineers and researchers who create and develop innovative products.

The users of this space have now access to Virtual Reality training sessions created by Harfang 3D and Sonovision, subsidiary of the ORTEC group, for understanding and using machines that equip the prototyping space particularly the laser-cutting and engraving machine.

"In the long run, we hope to open up to more users in order to provide them our French alternative technology for their industrial requirements", adds François Gutherz.
 

inauguration harfang test

 

What’s next ? The use of the software is free at the Fablab and throughout the evaluation and development phase. Moreover, the user enterprises can discuss the conditions of the application of industrial license protecting the development of their projects (owner's license, royalty…) with Harfang 3D.

 

This new tool at the X-Fab of Ecole Polytechnique will undoubtedly bring new perspectives to its incubated entrepreneurs and students who could develop their projects with a collaborative and innovative technology from France.

Harfang 3D rejoint l’espace de prototypage de l’École polytechnique

Le logiciel Harfang 3D a été implémenté dans l’espace de prototypage X-Fab de l’École polytechnique le 16 novembre 2020. Cette solution française consacrée au développement d’interfaces homme-machine en 3D temps réel présente un véritable intérêt pour les étudiants et entrepreneurs de l’École polytechnique. François Gutherz, CTO chez Harfang 3D, a répondu à nos questions.


Harfang 3D : qu’est-ce que c’est ?

"Harfang 3D, déclare François Gutherz, est une brique logicielle française dédiée à la création d’interfaces homme-machine en 3D temps réel." 

Une interface homme-machine, ou IHM, permet à un utilisateur d’interagir avec une machine (ordinateur, objet connecté, système embarqué ou robot) grâce à un tableau de bord, une tablette ou un écran autonome. La programmation en 3D temps réel rend possible la création d’objets connectés, de simulations 3D ou encore de formations en réalité virtuelle dans le but de faciliter l’utilisation d’une machine par des utilisateurs lambda, sans connaissances préalables.

harfang

Harfang 3D est une solution multi-langage (C++, Python, Lua et bientôt Google Go) et cross-platform (Windows, Linux, OSX), dont l'objectif est d'être accessible au plus grand nombre. Elle dispose d’une double licence libre et propriétaire, qui donne entièrement accès au code source pour effectuer les modifications que vous désirez. Harfang 3D vous garantit ainsi une totale autonomie et indépendance pour mener à bien votre projet, avec un support collaboratif sur le forum de la société.

L’ambition d’Harfang 3D est d’améliorer l’utilisation des machines par l’humain, grâce à des outils dernière génération. L’utilisation de la 3D temps réel permet de s’adresser au cerveau d’une façon plus efficace et directe, en rendant possible la création d’objets ou d’environnements de façon instantanée avec un grand niveau de précision et d’interactivité.

La solution a commencé à se développer en 2017, grâce à l’appui de la région Centre-Val de Loire et de BPI France. Harfang 3D est né d’un constat chez Movida Production, raconte François Gutherz. Nous nous sommes aperçus qu’il y avait un énorme manque dans l’industrie par rapport aux solutions existantes. En effet, la plupart des solutions 3D temps réel étaient pensées pour du jeu vidéo, et pas pour des applications industrielles. Nous avons donc décidé de répondre à ce besoin et nous avons eu l’occasion d’éprouver la solution au sein de projets industriels, notamment avec des clients du secteur automobile.”

En tant que solution 100% française, Harfang 3D offre plusieurs garanties à ses utilisateurs.

D’abord, l’interopérabilité : Harfang 3D est développé pour être facilement intégrable aux projets industriels, aux systèmes embarqués et aux environnements existants. A l’opposé, les solutions dont la roadmap est dictée par le marché du jeu vidéo (Unity 3D qui est américain, ou Unreal Engine, américano-chinois) posent des problèmes techniques d’intégration et d’industrialisation.

Ensuite, la confidentialité et la souveraineté : Harfang 3D est un logiciel développé en France. Pour des utilisations industrielles et notamment pour des activités économiques sensibles voire du secteur Défense, avec des enjeux de souveraineté et d’autonomie stratégique, les données de l’utilisateur ne sont en aucun cas stockées dans un cloud et le code source est accessible et auditable ; les connexions en porte dérobée sont impossibles.

Enfin, la pérennité : les technologies de 3D mainstream ne correspondent pas aux impératifs de pérennité des entreprises. Aujourd’hui, Harfang 3D sait que dans les domaines industriels ou de défense, les besoins de maintien en conditions opérationnelles peuvent aller jusqu’à 15 ans ou plus.

Exemples d’applications avec Harfang 3D

Grâce à Harfang 3D, vous pouvez créer des prototypes de produits avec IHM, des objets connectés, de la simulation 3D, de la formation en réalité virtuelle, etc. De nombreuses possibilités s’offrent à vous avec la programmation en 3D temps réel.

Voici les principaux projets menés par Harfang 3D ces dernières années :

  • un prototype de tableau de bord 3D autostéréoscopique (visualisation de la 3D sans lunettes) de véhicule pour le groupe Valeo, équipementier automobile français, présenté au Mondial de l’auto 2018 et au CES de Las Vegas 2019 ;
  • un démonstrateur de caméra embarquée en réalité augmentée pour Valeo, présenté au CES de Las Vegas 2020 ;
  • un composant en réalité augmentée avec Valeo destiné à équiper les véhicules de série ;
  • une étude scientifique en réalité virtuelle pour la SNCF concernant les équipements de sécurité présents dans les gares, avec une reconstitution d’une gare en VR et une collecte de données liée au fonctionnement de ces équipements.

Et vous, que développerez-vous avec Harfang 3D ?

Intégration d’Harfang 3D au X-Fab de l’École polytechnique

L’espace de prototypage X-Fab de l’École polytechnique accueille le logiciel Harfang 3D  depuis le 16 novembre 2020. Le X-FAB est destiné aux entrepreneurs, aux étudiants, aux ingénieurs et aux chercheurs qui créent et développent des produits innovants.

Les utilisateurs de cet espace ont désormais à leur disposition des formations VR créées par Harfang 3D et Sonovision, filiale du groupe ORTEC, pour comprendre et utiliser les machines qui équipent l’espace de prototypage, notamment la machine de découpe laser et de gravure.

"Sur le long terme, nous espérons ouvrir les horizons des utilisateurs afin qu’ils utilisent notre technologie alternative française pour leurs besoins industriels, ajoute François Gutherz."

Et ensuite ? L’utilisation du logiciel est gratuite au fablab et durant toute la phase d’évaluation et de développement. Dans un second temps, les entreprises utilisatrices échangent avec la société Harfang 3D sur les conditions d’application d’une licence industrielle protégeant le développement de leurs projets (licence propriétaire, royalties...).

Ce nouvel outil pour le X-FAB de l’École polytechnique apportera sans aucun doute de nouvelles perspectives aux entrepreneurs incubés et aux étudiants, qui pourront développer leurs projets sur une technologie française, collaborative et innovante.