Moving towards smart building with SpinalCom

With the increased presence of smart home and connected objects in individual houses, it’s time for smart building to revolutionise the management of professional buildings. The building is now supposed to analyse the data that it produces so that the proprietor can use it better and become a platform of digital services for enhancing user experience for the residents of the building. With SpinalCore, the BOS (Building Operating System) of SpinalCom , the advent of smart building is here.

Beginning of SpinalCom

The start-up SpinalCom was created in 2016, but to know about its beginnings, we need to start from the end of 2009. Jérémie Bellec first created Structure Computation for developing a digital collaborative solution of dynamic digital twins. It was followed by six years of R&D to develop a semantic database necessary for the management of digital twin in real time. Thereafter, he collaborated with Sébastien Coulon to actually launch this product in the real estate market. “We decided to focus on the real estate market because the arrival of BIM(Building Informaton Model that permits the modelling of a building in 3D and derive a database from it) facilitated the digitalisation of a building and no one had tapped into this segment already.”, explains Sébastien Coulon.

In 2016, the SpinalCore BOS (Building Operating System) is finally ready : the enterprise is now called SpinalCom and its product is launched in the market. Large French enterprises like EDF, Vinci and Eiffage decide to trust Jeremie Bellec and Sébastien Coulon to improve operation of their office buildings. Recently, CNP Assurances too decided to work with SpinalCom.

 

“The CNP Assurances selected the Building Operating System by SpinalCom for developing its future intelligent platform for digital services based on a digital twin management technology – digital twin – multi-systems in real time. SpinalCom proposes an innovative solution that is open, secured and above all scalable to ensure essential linking between all tools such as IT, IoT, GTB (OT) and GMAO in the long run. The first deployment is planned on our future headquarters of 40000 m2 at Issy-Les-Moulineaux.” – Gia An NGUYEN, Department of Customer Experience and Information Systems, Head of Smart Building

 

X-Tech Booster incubator

For developing SpinalCom, the cofounders decided to join the start-up X-Tech Booster  of the École polytechnique in late 2015. Thanks to the X network, their project took off, notably due to their meeting with the president of Vinci, an ex-polytechnician. This meeting allowed them to deploy SpinalCore in the headquarters of Vinci and conquer French markets more. The Ecole Polytechnique facilitated contact with prestigious clients for SpinalCom.

Develoment in international smart building

Well-established in the French market, SpinalCom starts its development internationally through resellers and partners capable of integrating their product. The start-up has recently signed a partnership agreement with Onepoint., a unique actor that integrates technology and Man for carrying out digital transformation of its clients. Onepoint is present in Europe, North America and Asia Pacific. It is now capable of selling and integrating SpinalCore not just at its clients in France but also in its offer Connect Building.

Our partnership with SpinalCom is naturally based around a shared vision for spaces and technology serving the well-being of occupants and users. Thanks to SpinalCore, we can propose the Connect Building solution that enhances the capabilities of BOS, connects the building to its environment and its occupants and helps it make autonomous decisions and offer unique experience. “ declares Jean-Pierre Poinsignon, partner at One point.

How does BOS SpinalCore work?

Building Operating System, SpinalCore : SpinalCom’s flagship product

“For explaining concretely a BOS, I like to compare it to an operating system of a mobile, like Android. SpinalCore, its an operating system for buildings. It offers the same functionalities : equipment that supplies data to applications.” Explains Sébastien Coulon.

bim

 

Why not simply use an OS available in the market? That is because a building is much more complex than a smartphone or a computer. These are systems nested within systems that moreover do not speak the same language. Management of air conditioning, room reservations, security management… The complexity lies in establishing communication within them and extract comprehensible data. The SpinalCore building operating system allows to furnish all such data in one unique language.

SpinalCore traite et croise les données de 3 univers :

SpinalCore processes and matches data from three systems :

·     BIM (Building Information Model) : This tool allows the creation of a building in 3D for understanding its functioning better and giving a precise description to the BOS;

·     OT (Operational Technology) : OT provides dynamic data on building systems such as electricity, heating, security, air conditioning etc. ;

·     lT (Information Technology) : IT provides dynamic data on services like meeting room reservation, creation of maintenance tickets etc.

These three types of data are collected on the platform SpinalCore for creating a digital twin of the building and knowing the activities taking place in it in real time for better understanding and making predictions.

Our BOS SpinalCore serves to bring contextualisation with information in real time and in 3D, explains Sébastien Coulon. For example, you have a meeting room that is very less used during summer and you do not understand why. Thanks to SpinalCore, you realise that the meeting room is south facing and therefore, is very hot during summer. Knowing that, you are capable of bringing solutions by installing awnings outside to bring down the temperature of that room.

How does SpinalTwin function?

SpinalTwin is an application suite developed on SpinalCore. Currently, we have 5 native applications:

·     Data Room for accessing all the data of the building together and in 3D

·     Space Centre for managing spaces, visualing usage rate of rooms and floors and calculating the area used by category

·     Operation Centre for supervising all the systems, localising an equipment, visualising a heat map, creating a maintenance ticket etc

·     Maintenance Book, a digital notebook for maintenance for managing and recording history of repairs and maintenance operations

·     Utilities Centre for following usage, overuse, and leakage

twin

 

These applications bring value to the BOS for better understanding of building data and facilitating decision-making. Other applications can be developed and integrated with SpinalCore. Just call us or an ESN for creating an application that serves your specific needs. Ultimately, we would like independent software developers to propose us their applications like Android Play Store, says Sébastien Coulon.

Simplifying building management

SpinalCom targets professional building owners. SpinalCore is ideal for simplifying the management and use of a building. It ensures that the building and its systems function well for the tenant, all while assuring maintenance costs as low as possible.

“With SpinalCore, we can cross information on the usage of the building and energy consumption. If certain zones have high electricity consumption while they are less used, solutions can be proposed.” Explains Sébastien Coulon

Creating intelligent services for users

The tenants or users of a building have other objectives: provide good experience to the employees at the workplace while creating intelligent services. The reservation of meeting rooms is the most demanded service by the tenants of a building. Distribution of offices among employees is also an important topic considering price per m² of office spaces and increase in work from home culture. BOS allows the receiving of data on the usage of building space and its capacity to accommodate so that informed decisions can be made, and substantial amount of money can be saved.

Control and secure data

The building system provides a large amount of dynamic data. It is important for owners and enterprises that rent the building to control and secure this data. The SpinalCore platform is not a SaaS solution but a software that is installed directly on the client server. This controls the data completely and nothing is transmitted on the SpinalCom server. Once the solution is purchased, you are completely its owner.

In the coming months, we will witness professional real estate move towards smart building. With the acceleration of teleworking, the enterprises could need fixed workplaces less and less. Jérémie Bellec and Sébastien Coulon are certain: the future of building its pay-per-use, like at coworking spaces. To carry out this digital transformation, the building owners need to have tools to make this business model work. SpinalCom provides these tools with its digital twin platform.

Supporting this development must also go through acceleration. While the start-up now has a 7-figure turnover and works with prestigious clients, it is currently looking for investors for a major fundraising. Do you believe in the impact of this solution and would like to join the adventure? Get in touch with Sébastien Coulon  to discuss more.

Évoluer vers le smart building avec SpinalCom

Comme la smart home et les objets connectés ont gagné les maisons individuelles, le smart building entend bien révolutionner la gestion des bâtiments professionnels. Le bâtiment doit désormais être en capacité d’analyser les données qu’il produit pour que le propriétaire l’exploite mieux ; et de devenir une plateforme de services digitaux pour améliorer l’expérience utilisateur des locataires du bâtiment. Avec SpinalCore, le BOS (Building Operating System) de SpinalCom, l’avènement du smart building est en marche.


Les débuts de SpinalCom

Si la start-up SpinalCom a réellement été créée en 2016, il faut remonter à la fin de l'année 2009 pour connaître ses débuts. Jérémie Bellec a d’abord créé Structure Computation pour développer une solution web collaborative de jumeaux numériques dynamiques. S'ensuit 6 ans de R&D afin de développer la base de données sémantiques nécessaire à la gestion d’un jumeau numérique en temps réel. Ensuite, il s’associe avec Sébastien Coulon pour lancer véritablement ce produit sur le marché du bâtiment. “Nous avons décidé de nous focaliser sur le marché du bâtiment car l’arrivée du BIM (Building Information Model, qui permet de modéliser un bâtiment en 3D et d’en tirer une base de données) allait permettre de digitaliser le bâtiment, et personne n’était encore positionné sur ce segment”, explique Sébastien Coulon.

En 2016, le BOS SpinalCore (Building Operating System) est fin prêt : l’entreprise se renomme SpinalCom et lance son produit sur le marché. De grandes sociétés françaises comme EDF, Vinci ou Eiffage décident de faire confiance à Jérémie Bellec et Sébastien Coulon pour améliorer l’exploitation de leurs bâtiments d’entreprise. Plus récemment, c’est CNP Assurances qui a décidé de faire confiance à SpinalCom :

La CNP Assurances a sélectionné le Building Operating System de SpinalCom pour développer sa future plateforme intelligente de services digitaux sur la base d'une technologie de gestion d'un jumeau numérique - digital twin - multi-systèmes en temps réel. SpinalCom propose une solution réellement innovante, ouverte, sécurisée et surtout évolutive pour assurer les liens indispensables entre tous les outils IT, IoT, GTB (OT) et GMAO sur le long terme. Le premier déploiement est prévu sur notre futur siège de 40 000 m2 à Issy-Les-Moulineaux" - Gia An NGUYEN, Direction de l’Expérience Client et des Systèmes d’Information, Responsable du Smart Building

L’incubateur X-Tech Booster

Pour développer SpinalCom, les cofondateurs décident de rejoindre la pépinière de start-up X-Tech Booster de l’École polytechnique fin 2015. Grâce au réseau de l’X, leur projet a décollé, notamment en rencontrant le président de Vinci, un ancien polytechnicien. Ce contact leur a permis de déployer SpinalCore au siège du groupe Vinci et d’exister davantage sur le marché français. L’École polytechnique leur a également apporté de la légitimité pour contacter des clients prestigieux.

Développement dans le smart building international

Bien implanté sur le marché français, SpinalCom commence son développement à l’international par le biais de revendeurs et de partenaires capables d’intégrer leur produit. La start-up a récemment signé un partenariat avec Onepoint, un acteur unique qui mixe technologie et humain pour accompagner la transformation numérique de ses clients. Onepoint est présent en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et en Asie-Pacifique. Celui-ci est désormais, non seulement en capacité de vendre et d’intégrer le BOS SpinalCore chez ses clients en France et à l’international, mais également d’intégrer cette solution dans leur offre Connect Building.

« Notre partenariat avec SpinalCom s’est fait tout naturellement autour d’une vision partagée d’espaces et de technologies au service du bien-être de ses occupants et usagers. Grâce à SpinalCore, nous pouvons proposer la solution Connect Building qui, en valorisant les capacités du BOS, connecte le bâtiment à son environnement et ses occupants pour le rendre autonome dans ses décisions et offrir une expérience unique au travers », déclare Jean-Pierre Poinsignon, partner chez Onepoint.

Comment fonctionne le BOS SpinalCore ?

Le produit phare de SpinalCom, c’est celui-ci : SpinalCore, un Building Operating System.

Pour expliquer concrètement ce qu’est un BOS, j’aime le comparer à un système d’exploitation de smartphone, comme Android. SpinalCore, c’est le système d’exploitation du bâtiment ! Il offre les mêmes fonctionnalités : des équipements qui fournissent des données à des applications”, indique Sébastien Coulon.
 

bim

Pourquoi ne pas simplement utiliser un OS existant sur le marché ? Parce qu’un bâtiment est bien plus complexe qu’un smartphone ou qu’un ordinateur. Ce sont des systèmes imbriqués dans des systèmes, qui de surcroît ne parlent pas le même langage. Gestion de l’air conditionné, réservation de salles, gestion de la sécurité... La difficulté : les faire communiquer entre eux et en retirer des données compréhensibles. Le BOS SpinalCore permet de fournir toutes ces données en un langage unique.

SpinalCore traite et croise les données de 3 univers :

  • le BIM (Building Information Model) : cet outil permet de créer un bâtiment en 3D pour mieux comprendre son fonctionnement et donner une description précise au BOS ;
  • l’OT (Operational Technology) : l’OT apporte des données dynamiques sur les systèmes du bâtiment comme la lumière, le chauffage, la sécurité ou l’air conditionné ;
  • l’IT (Information Technology) : l’IT fournit des données dynamiques sur les services comme la réservation de salles de réunion ou la création de tickets de maintenance.

Ces trois types de données sont recueillies sur la plateforme SpinalCore pour créer un jumeau numérique du bâtiment et savoir ce qui se passe en temps réel dans celui-ci, pour mieux le comprendre et faire des prévisions.

Notre BOS SpinalCore sert à apporter de la contextualisation avec des informations en temps réel et en 3D, explique Sébastien Coulon. Par exemple, vous avez une salle de réunion très peu utilisée pendant l’été et vous ne comprenez pas pourquoi. Grâce à SpinalCore, vous vous rendez compte que la salle de réunion est exposée plein sud et donc, qu’il fait trop chaud dans cette salle l’été. En sachant cela, vous êtes en mesure d’apporter une solution en installant des stores extérieurs pour faire baisser la température de la salle.

Comment fonctionne SpinalTwin ?

SpinalTwin est une suite applicative développée sur SpinalCore. On trouve à ce jour 5 applications natives :

  • le Data Room, pour accéder à l’ensemble des données du bâtiment et au modèle 3D ;
  • le Space Center, pour gérer les espaces, visualiser le taux d’utilisation des pièces et des étages et calculer les surfaces utilisées par catégorie ;
  • le Operation Center, pour superviser l’ensemble des systèmes, localiser un équipement, visualiser une carte de chaleur, créer un ticket de maintenance, etc ;
  • le Maintenance Book, un carnet d’entretien numérique du bâtiment pour gérer et conserver l’historique des réparations et des opérations de maintenance ;
  • le Utilities Center, pour suivre la consommation, la surconsommation et les fuites.
twin

 

Ces applications apportent de la valeur au BOS pour mieux comprendre les données du bâtiment et faciliter la prise de décision. “D’autres applications peuvent bien sûr être développées et intégrées sur SpinalCore, il suffit de faire appel à nous ou à une ESN pour créer une application qui répond à vos besoins spécifiques. A terme, nous aimerions que des développeurs de logiciels indépendants nous proposent leurs applications, à la manière du Play Store Android”, déclare Sébastien Coulon.

Simplifier la gestion d’un bâtiment

SpinalCom s’adresse en priorité aux propriétaires de bâtiments professionnels : le BOS SpinalCore est idéal pour simplifier la gestion et l’exploitation d’un bâtiment. Il permet de s’assurer que le bâtiment et ses systèmes fonctionnent bien pour le locataire, tout en assurant des coûts de maintenance et d’entretien les plus bas possible.

Avec SpinalCore, on peut croiser des informations sur l’utilisation du bâtiment et la consommation énergétique. Si certaines zones ont une forte consommation alors qu’elles sont peu utilisées, des solutions peuvent être trouvées pour réduire la consommation énergétique”, présente Sébastien Coulon.

Créer des services intelligents pour les utilisateurs

Les locataires, ou preneurs de bâtiment, ont d’autres objectifs : fournir une bonne expérience à leurs employés sur leur lieu de travail, en créant des services intelligents. La réservation de salles de réunion est le service le plus demandé par les locataires de bâtiments. La répartition des bureaux parmi les employés est également un sujet phare, du fait du prix au m² d’un bureau et de l’avènement du télétravail. L’utilisation d’un BOS permet de recevoir des données sur l’utilisation de la surface du bâtiment et la capacité d’accueil, dans l’objectif de prendre des décisions éclairées et de faire des économies substantielles.

Maîtriser et sécuriser les données

Les systèmes d’un bâtiment fournissent une grande quantité de données dynamiques : il est essentiel, pour les propriétaires et pour les entreprises qui louent le bâtiment, de maîtriser et de sécuriser ces données. La plateforme SpinalCore n’est pas une solution SaaS mais un logiciel qui s’installe directement sur les serveurs du client. Celui-ci maîtrise totalement ses données, rien ne transite par les serveurs de SpinalCom. Une fois la solution achetée, vous en êtes totalement maître.

Dans les prochains mois, nous allons voir l’immobilier professionnel évoluer vers le smart building. Avec l’accélération du télétravail, les entreprises auront de moins en moins besoin de bureaux fixes. Jérémie Bellec et Sébastien Coulon sont formels : l’avenir du bâtiment, c’est le pay-per-use, le paiement à l’usage, comme dans les espaces de coworking. Pour que les propriétaires de bâtiment réussissent cette transition digitale, ils doivent avoir les outils pour mettre en place ce business model. SpinalCom fournit ces outils grâce à sa plateforme de jumeau numérique.

L’accompagnement de cette évolution doit également passer par une accélération. Si la start-up réalise aujourd’hui un chiffre d’affaires à 7 chiffres et travaille pour des clients prestigieux, elle est actuellement à la recherche d’investisseurs pour une importante levée de fonds. Vous êtes convaincu de l’impact de cette solution et souhaitez prendre part à l’aventure ? Entrez en contact avec Sébastien Coulon pour en discuter davantage.